Beyond my Blue Trail: Pilisszántó

This is a continuation of yesterday's post. I didn't continue the Blue Trail because I had very little time left, but just enough time to go to a nearby village, Pilisszántó.
Before I made this decision, I went up a very steep hilltop from the Mary's Spring, at the top of which I heard the male deer, bellowing loudly and preparing to fight.

I was a little scared because I didn't want to meet them up close and personal, as an intruder on their territory.
So I turned around and headed back towards Pilisszentkereszt. The village was already visible in the distance through the trees.

P1500375.JPG

P1500377.JPG

Looking in the other direction, I waved goodbye to the twin peaks of Kevély.

P1500378.JPG

At the edge of the village, I was surprised to see a beautiful horse, peacefully grazing in the lush grass.

P1500385.JPG

Clouds were gathering above me, but I ignored them. A few minutes of running rain was expected, but I had my raincoat in my backpack, ready to put it up.

P1500391.JPG

P1500393.JPG

Passing through the village I reached the motorway to Pilisszántó, from where I had to walk for just over half an hour. On the way I stopped at a memorial cross. It was probably in memory of a motorcyclist.

P1500394.JPG

Shortly before Pilisszántó I was caught by a small shower, and it rained with varying intensity until I reached my destination, then the cloud moved on. But in the meantime the sun was shining and it cheered me up.

P1500395.JPG

Pilisszántó is surrounded by rocky mountains to the north and east. To the north of the village, a sacred site has been built on the side of the mountain, taking advantage of the local features. There is also a beautifully restored wheel well, which used to be used by lime burners.

P1500398.JPG

Next to the well, you can go up to the "Cliff Theatre", which used to be a quarry. A carved wooden gate marks the entrance. On the top you can see the characteristic cross with many branches.

P1500403.JPG

At the top of the rock face is a huge, snow-white limestone statue of the Blessing Jesus.

P1500401.JPG

The towers of the Chapel of Mary are also visible.

P1500405.JPG

Ancient motifs on the plinth of the gate

P1500413.JPG

One of our greatest kings, St László

P1500414.JPG

Corridor of pine trees

P1500416.JPG

Eusebius, founder of the Hungarian Pauline Order

P1500418.JPG

King Mathias

P1500423.JPG

Chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary. It was built of local stone from public donations and designed by one of the world famous Imre Makovecz's students, József Őrfi.
(Read more: https://www.pilisszantozarandokhely.hu/boldogasszonykapolna.html)

P1500426.JPG

The interior of the chapel is small, but very intimate. Best for solitary or small group contemplation. If a larger group comes for a ceremony, it is usually held in front of the chapel.

P1500428.JPG

P1500429.JPG

P1500431.JPG

P1500434.JPG

Back side of the chapel

P1500438.JPG

I spent 20 minutes in the solitude of the chapel and then went out to the statue of Jesus.

P1500445.JPG

P1500446.JPG

I spent at least another fifteen minutes by the statue, admiring the magnificent view. In the distance I could see the rain falling over the Buda hills.

P1500447.JPG

P1500449.JPG

P1500450.JPG

P1500455.JPG

I arrived in the village in less than a quarter of an hour, and I still had half an hour before the bus to Budapest. The pastry shop was still open and I bought a huge slice of chocolate cake, which I ate at the bus stop and had chocolate in my face.

The End

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency