A little baroque pearl - Church of the Most Holy Name of Jesus

I spent a few years living just a few minutes away from beauty. I have passed it by dozens of times in that time. But it never occurred to me to open the door and enter.

This time, something pushed me inside. It was a cold and rainy day, and I saw someone opening the door, so I followed.

I entered, and my jaw dropped...
This is what you see after you close the door behind you:


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 5.jpg

Church of the Most Holy Name of Jesus in Wroclaw

Uniwersytecki kościół Imienia Jezus we Wrocławiu


Church of the Name of Jesus in Wrocław, currently a university church - a baroque church, built by the Jesuits in the years 1689–1698, and work on its furnishing and decoration lasted for almost another 40 years, until the end of 1734.
source


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 2.jpgKościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 3.jpg

Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 1.jpg


It is dark and quiet, even though it is in the city center, with a smell of old wood and stone. I had no idea where to look first. My camera refused to work in the darkness without a proper tripod, and I was forced to use my phone; somehow it adjusted better to the darkness.


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 4.jpg


The ceiling and sides are covered in episodes from Jesus life. Images full of colours and movement.


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 6.jpg

Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 9.jpg

Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 8.jpg


Can you see the white and blue piece of cloth in the corner? It so annoys me when such things are put in interiors like this. It doesn't fit, shouldn't be there, and just ruins the effect. This church is so beautiful on its own. Leave it as it is! No fake plastic flowers, cloths, doilies, and other unnecessary gadgets, please. Please!


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 7.jpg

Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 10.jpg

Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 12.jpg


The alter was built in 1722–24, and the large painting in the middle shows baby Jesus being circumcised. I didn't get any closer shots as there were people gathering for some upcoming mass I didn't want to disturb.


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 11.jpg


What is surprising to me is that the doors are on the side of the building instead of on one end.

Here is a Wikipedia page with detailed info. Just google translate it to English :)

The whole building is connected to the university on one side, and I would never have thought that these small doors would hide this treasure.


Kościół uniwersytecki Najświętszego Imienia Jezus Wroclaw 13.jpg


A Google view shows that it has quite an awkward position between all the buildings. The long pink one on the left side is one of the Wroclaw University buildings.


image.png
Google maps


And a fun fact:
On the side of it, there are still bullets from WWII. Never repaired or covered with fresh paint on purpose.
Image also from Google, as I forgot to shoot it 🙄


image.png
Google maps

»«
Shot with OnePlus 7 Pro
All photos, graphics and text are my own unless stated otherwise.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now