A Trip to the Market Town of Barnsley

We visited the old market town of Barnsley in South Yorkshire, which has a history of glass making and coal mining. Barnsley Town Hall dates from 1933.

The artwork, in front of the hall is by Nigel Hall, and called Crossing (Vertical). Source I know art is subjective but I quite like the sculpture.

We came across an old red telephone box in the town. A lot of the iconic phone boxes have been either been discontinued, not working or have been repurposed.

The ones that have been repurposed have been turned into micro libraries, a place to put a defibrillator, but this one had been turned into a work of art as a tellapoem!

It tells stories of Barnsley's heritage through the work of the Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage. I think it's a great idea.

The very colourful rock and reggae bar plays live reggae music.

There was a nice bit of graffiti art as well.

At the Civic, there was a photography exhibition showing the works of the late Diane Arbus who was born in 1923 in New York.

I must confess, I hadn’t heard of her until recently but she is believed to be one of the great figures of American photography. Source

I didn't expect to enjoy Barnsley as much as I did, so it was a pleasant surprise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency