Meteora, Kalambaka - A place of spiritual peace

The current situation with the price of our crypto currencies and Hive seems very disappointing, everything is sinking at a high speed and I have nothing left but to remain a believer, as I believe in God, so I also believe in saving the price of my favorite tokens😁

I felt a similar disappointment when I saw the news that our favorite Pinmapple was shutting down, but when I saw that Detlev announced the takeover of Pinmapple and the start of a new Worldmappin, the delight was so great that the disappointment was overshadowed.
Will it be the same with crypto?

After that news about the transition of Pinmapple to Worldmappin there was no reason to worry, I knew that my pins would remain safe and more importantly, that Hive would have a worthy replacement for Pinmapple.

Not to forget, there's also Travelfeed who immediately made it possible to copy our pins to their platform...

Don't worry travelers and fans of pinning our trips, we are covered 😀

And it would be a real shame if posts like the following one could not be recorded on Hive in the future...

To take my mind off the crypto, there are travel memories

Staying in the Olympic region of Greece on the Aegean Sea, we always take advantage of visiting some interesting and interesting localities in the area.

After visiting the coast, the mountain village Palaios Panteleimonas and the foot of Mount Olympus, we decided on a slightly more serious trip and visit Meteora, close to Kalambaka.

Why is this location so special?

The reason for this is the monasteries that were built on top of inaccessible rocks.

We waited for a slightly cloudier day, which would not be good for the beach, but which is ideal for visiting the magical rocks and the monasteries on them.
We went in our own organization by car, so it was easy for us to visit several monasteries.
Great Meteor, abbreviated to The Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron, which dates back to the 14th century, attracted most of our interest, and as the largest monastery of all 7 in Meteora, it is the largest and richest in history.

From the parking lot in front of the monastery, we go down the stairs to the foothills and go to the monastery along narrow steps carved into the rock.

These stairs, which we used to move, did not exist before, but the monks used to climb them in moving baskets.
This way of entering the monastery was created by the monks in order to prevent easy entry into the monastery by various invaders who passed through this area. The greatest conquerors were the Ottomans.

The monastery still has a cable car, which is used to deliver the necessities for the monks to the monastery, and visitors are able to see what the wheel used to look like, which raised and lowered the baskets.

But, how originally, until the construction of the building and the wheelbarrow with a basket, the monks used to climb here, how they brought out stone by stone, carved the rocks and made even narrower stairs than today... how they delivered water and food, how they built with what. ..
Incredibly...

We tour the old workshop with tools and processed objects, the rooms where the monks used to stay. We saw equipment for making wine, as well as some of their personal belongings, books, medals, cutlery...

The devil doesn't give me peace, I have to satisfy my curiosity and decide to peek through the opening of one of the doors.

An instant shiver ran down my spine.
I am looking at the skulls of generations of monks who served the God here for centuries.

In order to lessen the chills of the open crypt that I peeked into, I go to the vantage point from which there is a phenomenal view and enjoy the vastness that stretches out in front of me.

The gloom of the tomb is slightly softened by the beauty of the monastery gardens.

After leaving the monastery (again by narrow and steep stairs), we are directed to the stem from which there is an incredible view.

The only thing that spoils these pictures is the gray, gloomy clouds that threaten rain, which eventually drives us away from this location.

I don't know if you've heard of Meteora, if you've had the opportunity to visit them, but if you haven't, and you're coming to this area of ​​Greece, I recommend it.
That one day, which in that case would have been stolen from the beach, would remain in your memory as an extraordinary experience. It is for me, and if by any chance I repeat my vacation in that region, I will again visit this incredible natural phenomenon and all the monasteries built on the rocks.


Thank you for stopping by my post and I hope you enjoyed the photos and the story I shared with you


All photos are my property, taken with a mobile phone


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency