A Week in Tirol Austria: Innsbruck Old Town

Innsbruck is the vibrant regional capital of Tirol and the fifth-largest city in Austria. If you're expecting a city filled with skyscrapers, allow me to save you from disappointment. Instead, the magnificent Nordkette Mountains dominate the skyline. They're picture-perfect backdrops to a mélange of architectural styles, old and new. The city appears more to be a massive village.

If I were to describe Innsbruck as a person, imagine someone who is naturally sophisticated without trying, but is fit and rugged whenever he or she needs to be.

View from the Roof Deck of 5th Floor Bar of The Penz Hotel

It all started with a job interview from my corporate life many moons ago. When the managing director threw in a one-week trip to Austria to visit our headquarters for a company training, I immediately blurted out, "Where do I sign?"

Three weeks later, I was on the plane en route to Innsbruck for intensive company training.

I had never written about this trip before (neither in my personal blog) because it felt private at the time. It was surreal being a part of the team and the luxury brand.

Inn River

But when I stumbled upon these photos while I was sorting and cleaning up my laptop storage space this week, I changed my mind. I had learned so much during this trip to Tyrol, and the knowledge and experience I have gained had led to both professional and personal growth.

Here I am taking ownership of that experience and I am now freely sharing it.

Flight to Innsbruck

It was the beginning of summer. From Frankfurt, I remember flying in a small plane. Classical music played in flight. There was no need for tv screens because the view from the airplane window was enough to entertain. Not to mention the crazy air pockets that rocked the aircraft as we glided between the gigantic mountains of the Tyrolean Alps.

I suddenly remembered what my IT colleague in Dubai once told me during a pantry coffee break. He flew once in winter for a meeting and his flight to get to Innsbruck got him so scared. I breathed out a sigh of relief that it wasn't as bad as his experience.

We landed and were picked up by the company van. We drove to Wattens where our hotel was. Wattens is a small town best known for the Swarovski crystal wonderland, but I will reserve that for the next posts.

During my five years with the company, I had been to Austria twice and both were week-long trips of sales meetings and company-related activities. We were given free days to explore places on our own and after learning sessions, we were taken to local destinations with breathtaking sceneries by our co-workers from the headquarters.

Our sightseeing started here with a sneak peek of the Goldenes Dachl.

Our day of arrival was a free day for sightseeing so I met up with my new colleagues I was traveling with at the lobby. The company van dropped us off in downtown Innsbruck since it was headed back there anyway.

Here are amassed images of places we've seen in Innsbruck taken at different times during business trips there:

Things to See in Innsbruck Old Town

The good news is, Innsbruck is easily visited on foot. All the sites are within walking distance and it was lovely to walk around.

Golden Roof (Goldenes Dachl)

The Golden roof glinted from a distance as we walked along Maria Theresa Street. Innsbruck's iconic landmark at the heart of the old town features a late-gothic balcony with 2,657 fire-gilded copper tiles. It was built for Emperor Maximilian I.

Innsbruck Imperial Palace (Hofburg)

Just 3 minute walk away from the Golden Roof is the Imperial Palace, known as the Hofburg. It is considered one of the three most important cultural and historical monuments of Austria. This museum reflects the opulent lifestyles of the rulers of the Habsburg Dynasty who were previous residents of the palace.

Triumphal Arch

Each destination has its own triumphal arch and this one is Innsbruck's own landmark. It's located right at the edge of the old town. Empress Maria Theresa had it commissioned. Its 2 faces symbolize two different events.


The southern facade commemorates the marriage of her son's wedding while the northern facade sadly was attributed to the mourning of her husband's passing- Emperor Franz I.

Maria Theresien Strasse

This would probably be the liveliest and busiest spot in Innsbruck. It's a street that stretches from the Triumphal Arch right down to the Golden Roof. A promenade strictly reserved for pedestrians lined by shops, restaurants, bars, and cafes housed in beautifully preserved 17th-18th century buildings. The pastel colors against the mountain backdrop are stunning to see!

St. Anne's Column

Some find it fascinating to discover the beautiful streets riding a carriage.

Check out the colorful houses on Mariahilf

Inn Bridge (Innbrücke)

A row of charming and colorful houses stood out along the Inn River and strolling along this quiet neighborhood was one of the highlights of the trip.

Inn River and Stadtarchiv/Stadtmuseum

View from The Penz Hotel

Innsbruck residents spend their leisure hours after work outdoors. When I asked former co-workers what their plans were for the weekend, it was either hiking, mountain biking, cycling, and during the winter months, skiing. It wasn't surprising because the Nordkette mountains are accessible via the Hungerburg Funicular from the city center.

My Takeaway

Before that interview, I passed the office sign many times and wondered what it was like to work in that company. Oblivious to the fact that this wishful thinking would then be realized a couple of years later that would take me to visit Innsbruck.

Life is unpredictable. Doors close and some windows open inviting us to make choices. Looking back, there were many opportunities that I missed but I am grateful I didn't miss this one. It allowed me to realize many of my desires and aspirations.

When I see Innsbruck and Tirol, I am flooded by memories, not only of the place but of the people I met, colleagues, and mentors who made a lasting impression.

Thank you for reading. I intend to show you more of Tirol in future posts.


DiscoveringArni Profile 2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency