Snowy waterfall - Rhine Falls

Lately, I've been going through a lot in my life so I haven't been around at all. I've been thinking about posting so often but I couldn't get myself to sit down and actually do something. This week, I have decided that I finally have to start again. So, here we go..

This winter was special for us. We usually have no snow at all as we're quite far away from the mountains and the climate here is rather mild which means that we have a lot of rain and fog all winter around. But not this winter!

I've been living here since 10 years and haven't seen so much chaos because of the snow before. It started snowing in the evening and in the morning we woke up to the snow almost up to the knees! It looked like the city service was shocked too as they didn't manage to clean it properly until it melted away a few days later.

People who parked their cars outside struggled to drive away and we helped one guy to push his car out of the parking spot as he was stuck. We went for a walk in the fresh snow when we saw him. We tried to help him but we were not strong enough. Luckily, I saw two guys cleaning the street in front of their houses and asked them for help. They didn't even think about it and helped us. It was so good to see that people are still willing to help others. That guy was so happy that he could drive home and I was proud that we helped!

This is also the first winter when I went outside every day regardless the weather and tried to reach 10,000 steps every day - not easy but doable. So often we walked in the rain but when we came back home I was feeling good nevertheless. This new routine seems to be beneficial to our health as neither of us was sick this winter.

Today, I will take you for a walk to the snowy waterfall. It was stunning and I hope that you will enjoy it. This is how it looked like a few weeks ago and you wouldn't recognize it today as it seems that spring has arrived early this year. I will show you that next time.

DSC_4276.jpg

Usually, we wouldn't come to the waterfall that often as there are always too many tourist but this year it was quiet, and there were only locals walking around which was so different to what we're used to. We enjoyed it a lot before the tourists take it over again...

DSC_4280.jpg

DSC_4286.jpg

DSC_4289.jpg

This is how much snow we got overnight. It might not be a lot for you if you're coming from a place where this is normal but trust me that this is very rare sight here...

DSC_4285.jpg

I was glad to see that there were some people before me as I didn't have to walk in deep snow but followed this narrow path...

DSC_4294.jpg

I would have stayed there for ages if it was not that cold!

DSC_4296.jpg

There is a walking trail on the other side of the river too but it was closed as the trees are old and weak and there was a risk that they would break down under the heavy snow and fall on the path. Further down the way I saw one tree break and fall in the river. It was so loud!

DSC_4299.jpg

This is how I find my peace - walking along the river on my own, enjoying the nature and listening to my favorite music 🙂

DSC_4300.jpg

DSC_4304.jpg

DSC_4307.jpg

DSC_4314.jpg

DSC_4311.jpg

And a couple of close ups..

DSC_4283.jpg

DSC_4293.jpg

I hope that you've enjoyed our walk.

Thank you for reading.

Cheers!
Martina

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency