Hinter Höhi winter adventure

We have visited Amden many times but we haven't realized that there are dozens of hiking trails in the area. In summer, we would walk around and enjoy the views of Walensee but this time we explored the other side of the mountain.

Due to the restrictions this year, there were many more winter hiking trails in the Alps then usually. As we don't ski we enjoyed winter hiking as much as we possibly could! The trip to the Hinter Höhi was the last one for us in this winter season. As soon as there is less snow in the mountains we will start the summer season.

1.jpg

Our day didn't start very well as there was way too much traffic and it took us almost 30 minutes to find a parking spot. We were afraid that there would be too many people which would ruin our experience, but it turned out that we were wrong! I don't know where all those people went but we came across just a few fellow hikers.

We were lucky with the parking at the end as we found the very last spot in the parking garage and didn't have to leave the car outside. It was very cold, so it was pleasant to get in a warm car after the hike 🙂

From the village, we took a steep path to the start of our hiking trail. We passed a stall with mulled wine and decided that we will get that delicious hot drink on the way back.

2.jpg

It took us almost two hours to get to the village from our home, so we were hungry already at the beginning of the hike. We found a sunny spot with a bench where we ate our sandwiches and continued up the hill.

It looked like the trail would lead us through the forest, but luckily within a few minutes we found ourselves in an open area with lots of sun. Let me tell you that it was freezing cold in the forest, so we were happy to get out of it!

3.jpg

The views were stunning from the beginning. They kind of compensated the strong wind that almost blew me away..

It was only -11 degrees Celsius but with that wind it was feeling much colder. I say only as it can get much colder up there.

7.jpg

When I turned around I saw this - looks like a place that I have to visit in summer this year...

5.jpg

We were heading to the place in the middle of the picture..

It doesn't look like it was far away or much higher than we were standing at that moment but believe me it was. Even when the trail is very well maintained it is not easy to walk in the snow. We have seen some people with snow shoes too and it looked even more difficult. They looked like penguins!

It was 7 km each way and I was so happy to arrive there! I was feeling like a hero who just fought the worst enemy once I was standing there - so exhausted and so happy at the same time 🙂

8.jpg

Days were short back in February, and we had to hurry up if we wanted to make it back before the sunset. The sun was going down quickly and created beautiful lighting.

6.jpg

These are my beloved Chürfisten or at least part of them. We will enjoy more of them once we're on top of the mountain.

9.jpg

I took many pictures here.. not only because it was beautiful but also because I was exhausted and didn't want to admit it to my husband 🙂 I was short of breath and the wind was burning my face which was the only part of my body that was not covered. A short break helped me to recover my strength.

10.jpg

And finally here we are! Now you can enjoy the views just like we did...

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

We saw a couple of people carrying their skis all the way up and taking off from here. They were tough!

16.jpg

While they were getting ready to ski I was sitting on a bench and just turning around to get all those pictures. A girl needs to relax!

17.jpg

This is one of the nicest crosses in the mountains that I've seen so far. And those stones were good for sitting too! I must admit that it was not my best hiking day as I was simply too cold but I was so proud of myself to walk 14 km in total without getting sick afterwards.

18.jpg

And this is how a happy husband looks like! He loves hiking - the more difficult, the better.

19.jpg

And here is me thinking about how many kilometres I have to hike back to get that stall with mulled wine 🙂 It was a good motivation!

20.jpg

And it was all worth it!

21.jpg

We took a different trail down to the village, so we didn't pass that stall with the mulled wine. But lucky as we are we found another stall and they even put a thick slice of an orange in the cup. It was so warm, sweet, and comforting..

22.jpg

Once we finished the wine we got in our warm car and drove back home. As soon as I sat in the car I forgot all the cold and struggle, and was happy that I stepped out of my comfort zone again and as a result have great memories of this place.

Hope you have enjoyed our trip.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency