Sun-Kissed Hiking Adventures on Minglanilla's Scorching Trails

Hello, dear hive friends!


Just a few more days until the end of November, and December is just around the corner. Are you all as excited as I am with Christmas approaching? I always look forward to it because it means my family will be together again, exchanging gifts and enjoying some fun games. I've already started buying Christmas gifts for my family, and the thought of it gives me butterflies. It's my first time giving them gifts with my own hard-earned money.

Anyway, I had a hiking experience a few months ago (May 2023) that I've been eager to share with you. It was the first time I got to dip into a river, and I also made new friends—shoutout to @kevincredible , @iamcjestrada , @junjinju , and others.

Minglanilla is a coastal municipality in the island province of Cebu. It has become a popular destination for hiking enthusiasts due to its stunning mountains offering scenic views. There are plenty of trail options for hikers to truly enjoy.

When @mariasalve invited us to go hiking in Minglanilla, I immediately said YES, along with @katiemeow and Ate Leslie. I was so excited because it would be my first time hiking outside Cebu City. On the day of the hike, we all met up at I.T Park, had breakfast at McDonald's. There, I met Kuya Kevin and Kuya CJ for the first time. We exchanged hi's and hello's and waited for the others. Once everyone arrived and finished eating, we departed from I.T Park and headed to Minglanilla with a Php 45 fare.

When we reached the junction, we decided to buy food for our trail lunch at a carinderia. Shortly after, Kuya Junji and Ate Sherlyn arrived - it was my first time meeting them as well. The jump-off point is in Brgy. Manduang, so we hopped on to motorcycle taxis to get there, paying Php 30 each.

The morning sun was exceptionally scorching. Thankfully, I filled all my water bottles, giving me confidence that I wouldn't run out of water until the next store along the trails. Let's see if I will really not run out of water later Hahahahah.



As we ascended, we encountered locals descending effortlessly, marveling at their trail-handling skills. Meanwhile, we proceeded with extra caution, particularly on paths with loose soil and rocks. We took several breaks during the ascent, allowing us to catch our breath and gather strength for the next uphill stretch.


The mountaintop offered numerous picturesque spots, and, of course, we couldn't resist documenting the beauty. We took our time capturing solo and group pictures, showcasing the breathtaking mountains behind us. Truly a beautiful sight!

Finally, we reached the first store at Paginpinon. Yey! Our moods instantly lifted upon discovering they had ice creams, sodas, and ice-cold water for sale. Look how happy Ate Salve was Hahahahah. We were like kids, gleefully enjoying the melting ice creams on our tongues.

As we continued the hike, the relentless sun bore down on us while we traversed rolling hills and open areas without trees. With no shade, the heat hit us directly, prompting some to pull out their umbrellas. Sadly, I didn't have an umbrella. I was just relying on my cap. I knew I'd end up with sunburns after that hike because of what I wore: just a sleeveless top with arm sleeves hastily put on, Hahaha.



We felt relief as we approached the store that had been mentioned, where we could buy food, sodas, or water. However, to our disappointment, the store was closed upon our arrival. Undeterred, we decided to have our lunch under the trees with the limited water supplies we had.


Initially, our plan was to hike to Mt. Naupa in Naga City, but due to uncertainties, we decided to shorten our hike. Descending to the river, we were determined to take a dip in its refreshing cold water. I was particularly excited because it would be my first time dipping in a river. Trekking along the river trail wasn't easy, but it was a better option than continuing to Mt. Naupa. We just had to be careful since the rocks were extremely slippery.


Our faces brightened up when we finally found a spot to soak in. The girls and boys chose separate areas; the boys had their own discussions while we, the girls, had our chat a few meters away. Unfortunately, we didn't go to the main waterfall as it would have taken additional time to reach there.

After an hour, we decided to head home, exiting Brgy. Guindaruhan, commonly known as "Crasher." Upon reaching Brgy. Guindaruhan, smiles returned as we found a store selling sodas. We treated ourselves with sodas, even though we hadn't completely finished the hike, Hahahaha. Anyway, that didn't matter, what mattered was that we got the much-needed liquid for our bodies at that time. We continued the hike until we reached Tungkop in Minglanilla where we took a motorcycle taxi.


Before going back to Cebu City, everyone has decided to eat first since we were all starving. Guess what we eat. It's Lechong Baboy! HAHAHAHAHA We just kept telling each other or let's just say we justified that it's our reward after that tiring experience. HAHAHHAHA

The intense sun in the Philippines these days can be quite unforgiving. I made a personal promise never to wear a sleeveless top again while hiking HAHAHAHA! Although the experience wasn't exactly ideal, it ended up being more memorable and amusing whenever we reminisce about it.

Thank you for reading, everyone!

Always remember to always explore and enjoy life. YOLO!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hello there! I'm Danah, a Marketing Services Associate by profession. I'm an adventurous person, always seeking to discover new experiences and extract valuable life lessons from each of them. I'm passionate about dancing and performing on stages in front of the crowd. I thrive on exploring the great outdoors and capturing memories.

Join me on my adventures by reading and supporting my blogs. Don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to share your thoughts. Get in touch through my PeakD, YouTube, or Instagram. 🤍

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency