A walk next to the small port of Limenaria

I'd start with a quick question, riddle me this, to see if you've been paying attention to the title of this travelogue. What do you think all the towns and villages on the islands on the seashore have in common? Of course, at least one port!

Today I think I'll tell you about a little walk, and what I saw when I did it, around the harbor of Limenaria. Limenaria, on the island of Thassos. Thassos is one of the big islands of Greece and it's in the Aegean Sea.

Some people in Limenaria call their town a village! The truth is that it is a very small town, but I can't call it a village. Especially when I think about how villages are in Romania, where I live.

Even if it is not very big, in Limenaria there is what does not exist in ordinary villages, namely institutions. Hospitals, banks, police, supermarket, hotels... So, even if it seems interesting to call it a village, Limeraria is undoubtedly a town. A town that has a port...

There are restaurants, cafes, and famous taverns. There are paved roads and plenty of cars. Most of the cars belong to tourists, but that doesn't change the situation... unless you look at them. The newest and most modern ones belong to tourists. The locals generally have much older and more tired cars. I think the Greeks like Japanese cars...

I am in love with Thassos Island and Limenaria. I have been to this island several times and each time I lived in Limenaria. I don't think this place is the most beautiful on the island but, my wife and I, like it because it offers us the possibility of long walks to other villages and resorts...

Walks through pine forests...

Through olive groves...

Close to the sea.

We also like Limenaria because of our hosts, Alexandra and Dimitri and we have decided that whenever we can go to the island we will stay at their place, Hotel Karagiannis!

More than the beautiful care, the coffee and breakfast, the peace and quiet, and the closeness to the pine forest through which we took long walks every day, I was also left with the friendship of these wonderful people.

Thassos is a mountainous island.

Thasos island is located in the northern Aegean Sea approximately 7 km (4 mi) from the northern mainland and 20 kilometers (12 miles) south-east of Kavala, and is of generally rounded shape, without deep bays or significant peninsulas. The terrain is mountainous but not particularly rugged, rising gradually from coast to center. The highest peak is Ypsario (Ipsario), at 1,205 meters (3,953 feet), somewhat east of the center. Pine forest covers much of the island's eastern slopes. Source

The villages and towns are at sea level but as soon as you get out of them you have to go up and down because the hills start. Returning from a walk to Potos, a town (village) 4 km away, we decided to walk a bit in the port area of Limenaria.

On the way out of the pine forest I saw, from the top of the hill, the town and the small harbor.

Fortunately, there are many staircases that help make it easier to get into town. The streets are mostly sloping and where the slope is too steep, stairs are the only solution.

Besides the staircase, we met trees and plants specific to Greece and the islands. The ever-present fig trees...

... and some oleander bushes.

I have to say now something that really surprised me. I like oleanders a lot and in Romania, many people (me too, of course) have this plant in pots, which in winter I take into the house, otherwise, they would not survive the cold.

Well, I found out that the Greeks don't like oleanders at all, they are said to bring poverty and that's why they get angry if someone brings them this plant as a gift!

Surely this superstition must have a cause, I don't know it, but that doesn't make me stop loving this flower at all.

Returning to the walk, there were many stairs to descend and many streets to walk down as well.

So we approached the harbor, I could watch a little from above, but we were close.

The harbor starts with a beach, a small beach, the only one in town.

On this walk we saw many of the customs and, I don't know how to say it, sort of symbols of the islands, island life, and the Greek island lifestyle.

The proverbial way to relax. Where there is a table and a few chairs, Greeks gather to chat or play a game...

The most popular means of transport is the scooter.

Cats can't be missing...

The vegetation is so rich that it grows out of stone.

Most of the cars are old Japanese cars.

Especially the symbol of symbols. Greek tavern. Fish and seafood!

Time flies on the island.

There's so much to see, to understand, to remember that you don't even realize that evening is slowly, slowly taking over the place. The golden hour is approaching. The setting sun still illuminates the hill we came down earlier.

Boats are returning to port. People go to their homes, tourists to their hotels. An exhaustingly beautiful day ends in Greek style.

The advantage of visiting the island late, at the end of September. Few tourists, good weather, and beautiful but without those stifling July-August heats. The pace of life has slowed down and is approaching the Greek way of life. The many noisy tourists are long gone!

I can't help but remember that everything good and beautiful has to end at some point. So does an island vacation. I can't forget the image of the island left behind by the ferry!

Every departure from the island is accompanied by a promise to return. Unfortunately, not all promises can be kept. The last time we were on the island was in 2019...

Written for #pinmapple and #wednesdaywalk, a challege of @tattoodjay!

I try, when I use the #Photo-Travel tag, to write travel blogs, of different sizes and with lots of photos, because there are, in my opinion, two benefits that such blogs should and can bring. To let those who can't travel to a certain destination, SEE what it's like there (not to imagine) or, to help those who will travel there, to recognize the places seen in the photos, to be a kind of guide. Of course, for this, there must be many photos, but with the amendment that a short or medium explanation must be written for (almost) each of them!

If you've read this far and aren't in the HIVE already, may I ask you a few questions? Do you want to earn for writing? Do you have passions or skills that you want to show others? Do you want to earn crypto like we have been doing for over six years? Referral link for a FREE account HERE

every_picture.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency