A visit to Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Having spent the day in the mountains the day prior, I felt it would be nice to have one by the seaside. so Puerto De Mogan fitted the bill nicely.

IMGP1954.JPG

Puerto De Mogan is on the south west of the island and is a port to many excursions, mainly to see dolphins and whales out in the ocean. Sadly I couldn't get myself booked onto one of those.

IMGP1957.JPG

So my intention was to go on a submarine to see marine life under the sea, and yes, it was yellow!

IMGP1958.JPG

But just as per my usual levels of luck this end of year, it was cancelled, I had a call earlier on in the day that I missed and went to my voice mail, which wasn't accessible, so had no idea it was form them, just assumed it was spam!

IMGP1961.JPG

And it was too late to try see if it was possible to slip onto a glass bottom boat last minute as well. So in the end they let me have my free parking for two hours to make up for things and I went and toured the village instead.

IMGP1960.JPG

The intention to make it across to the beach and bar area for a look around and relax, or melt since it was very warm.

IMGP1972.JPG

So from walking from where I parked I was able to enter the main walkway area to such pretty looking buildings.

IMGP1973.JPG

Where every side view is more pretty buildings and walkways waiting to be explored.

IMGP1974.JPG

Although it felt very surreal for me finding Christmas trees in such a warm country, being that I'm from a northern country and had just escaped -7c temps and snow!

IMGP1975.JPG

All may seem peaceful here in this part, but everyone was hiding along at the beach area at this time. Pretty sure this fills up as the afternoon goes along.

IMGP1976.JPG

And there was no shortage of boats sitting in the harbour either!

IMGP1977.JPG

Although it can be seen that there was a real effort to make sure everything was bright and colourful for the buildings as this floral delight shows.

IMGP1979.JPG

Still no shortage of boats here as we make our way around to the harbour masters building.

IMGP1984.JPG

Honestly when you see one of these in the UK it just doesn't compare, probably find its just a random house or nothing at all in the small fishing villages.

IMGP1986.JPG

Still from here we can have the view across the water to the private hotels and beaches rather then the public ones.

IMGP1987.JPG

Or a view eastwards along the coastal rocky landscape of Gran Canaria.

IMGP1988.JPG

But the aim was to make it to the beach, and this was me very close to it now.

IMGP1990.JPG

IMGP1998.JPG

And it was pretty packed as can be seen from both sides. Honestly cant blame them for enjoying it there that day. Still for me I cannot sit still
long and need to explore, so that I did.

IMGP1992.JPG

So climbing again I went up a massive amount of stairs for a view over Puerto De Mogan.

IMGP1993.JPG

And I really love the cove like beach area that is here, and also amused by the metal Christmas tree they set up. I wasn't able to see it at night so hopefully it was lit up.

IMGP1995.JPG

And with one last look over the harbour area, and just to rub it in a bit, the glass bottom boat returns, just as my time was nearly up!

IMGP2004.JPG

But as we leave, there is just one last view towards the sea and the cove area. For what was an unexpected tour of the village.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency