The Golden Glory of Phra That In Hang

Hello everyone

It had been almost a year since the last time I went to pay homage to the Buddha image at Ban Koh Siray Temple. The temple was located on a hill, not far from Koh Siray Pier, and offered breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape. As we made our way to the temple, we passed a replica of Phra That In Hang, a large golden rock that was modeled after a similar structure in Burma. It was a sight to behold and served as a reminder of the rich history and culture of this beautiful country.

Today, I decided to take my son to pay homage to the monks at Ban Ko Siray Temple. As we approached the temple, we were greeted by two tall and imposing statues of jinns, male and female. These figures were said to represent the spirits of those who had done evil in their lives and were now suffering the consequences of their actions.

According to Buddhist teachings, those who did evil in their lives would have to accept their karma and suffer in various ways, including hunger, extreme temperatures, and excruciating pain. These jinn statues were created to remind us of the importance of doing good deeds and refraining from evil in our daily lives.

As I was taking pictures of the two jinn statues, I noticed a cat walking over to my son. It was a friendly feline that seemed to be seeking some affection. The temple was filled with many cats that had been brought there by people, some of which were pregnant, while others were injured.

I remembered that when I had visited the temple the previous year, I had bought some cat food for them. However, this year, I had forgotten to bring any with me, which made me feel sad as I watched the cat snuggling up to my son as if begging for food.

We could only squat down and rub the cat's head and body, providing it with some much-needed attention and affection. It was heartwarming to see how much the cats at the temple were cared for by the visitors and the monks who lived there.

The Ban Koh Siray Temple was divided into two parts. The first part was like a regular temple, with a beautiful Ubosot. However, every time I had visited the temple, the doors of the Ubosot had always been closed, so I had never had the opportunity to see the inner beauty of this sacred place.

Despite this disappointment, the temple was still a sight to behold, with its stunning architecture and beautiful surroundings. The second part of the temple was located on the hill, the Phra That In Hang replica.

As my son and I walked up the steep and winding hill, we were greeted by a small monk's house that had been built into the forest. The monk's houses were simple and humble, but they added to the overall charm of the area.

We also noticed that the temple had raised a large number of chickens, which were wandering freely along the streets.

As we continued our ascent, we were surrounded by large trees that provided much-needed shade from the hot sun. The trees also served as a sanctuary for some cats that roamed the area. Some were lounging lazily in the shade, while others were playfully chasing each other around.

After walking for about three kilometers, we finally reached the top of the hill and saw the replica of Phra That In Hang. The large golden rock was truly a sight to behold, and we were in awe of its size and beauty. It was clear that a great deal of care had been taken in creating this sacred object, and we felt privileged to have the opportunity to see it up close.

Despite the physical exertion required to get to the top, the journey had been well worth it. We had been surrounded by natural beauty and had witnessed the dedication and devotion of the temple and its inhabitants. We left feeling renewed and inspired, and with a newfound appreciation for the power and beauty of this sacred place.

The tranquility of the temple was one of its most striking features. Unlike many other temples in the area, it was not overrun with tourists or crowded with noisy visitors. Instead, it had a peaceful and serene atmosphere that allowed us to fully immerse ourselves in the spiritual energy of the place.

As I reached the stairway leading up to the temple, I noticed an old beggar woman sitting on the steps, asking for money from the tourists who passed by. At first, I was hesitant to approach her, unsure of what to say or how to act in the presence of such obvious suffering. But as I drew closer, I couldn't help but feel drawn to her plight.

The woman was old and frail, with a worn and weathered face that spoke of a life of hardship and struggle. On her body, there was a saline tube that fed food directly into her abdomen, a clear indication that she was suffering from some kind of serious illness.

When she saw me and my son, she asked us for money in a raspy voice that was barely audible. We turned to look at her, and I was struck by her resilience and determination in the face of such adversity.

I asked her what was wrong with her, and she replied that she was suffering from oral cancer, which had left her unable to speak in clear words or eat by herself. She lived with her elderly husband, who was also in poor health, and they had no means of supporting themselves except through begging on the streets.

As I listened to her story, my heart went out to her, and I felt a deep sense of compassion and empathy for her situation. Despite her suffering, she refused to give up on life or surrender to despair. Instead, she sat on the steps of the temple, day after day, asking for help from those who passed by.

Moved by her plight, I reached into my pocket and gave her some money, hoping that it would help to ease her burden, if only for a little while. As we continued up the stairs towards the temple, I couldn't help but think about the old beggar woman and the many challenges that she faced every day.

Her story was a reminder of the fragility of life and the importance of compassion and kindness in the face of adversity. It was also a reminder of the many people in the world who are struggling to survive and who desperately need our help and support.

Legend has it that the Naga is a mythical serpent-like creature that lives in rivers and lakes. It is considered to be a symbol of power and prosperity in many Southeast Asian cultures, including Thailand. The statue of the Naga at the temple is particularly striking because of its bright orange color and intricate details. As my son and I approached the statue, we noticed that there were small offerings of flowers and incense placed at the base.

The sun was blazing hot as we climbed up the stairway to the replica of Phra That In Hang. The cement floor was scorching, making us wince with each step. My son and I hurriedly took off our shoes, eager to get to the upper pavilion before our feet got burned even more. As we ascended, we could feel the heat radiating from the concrete steps. The alternating green and red colors of the stairway offered a bit of respite, but not enough to cool us down.

Finally, we reached the top and entered the sermon pavilion, where a large reclining Buddha image was enshrined. But to our disappointment, the room was closed, and we couldn't enter to pay our respects. It was a shame, as we had come all this way to see the temple and offer our prayers.

But as we stepped out onto the balcony, we were greeted by a refreshing breeze. The wind blew through our hair and provided some much-needed relief from the heat. From the balcony, we could see the Koh Sirey pier and the vast expanse of the sea. It was a breathtaking view, and we felt grateful for the chance to experience it.

As we took in the scenery, we noticed the cat seeking attention and affection. My son, who loved cats, was delighted and happily petted and played with them. They purred contentedly, and we could feel their warmth and love.

Despite the disappointment of not being able to worship the Buddha image, we felt a sense of peace and serenity on the balcony. The combination of the cool breeze, stunning view, and the presence of the friendly felines made the visit to the temple a memorable one.

Whenever I feel tired or overwhelmed, I always find solace in the beauty of Phra That In Hang. The replica of this large, golden structure sits on the west side of the sermon pavilion, surrounded by lush greenery and a peaceful atmosphere. It's a place of serenity that allows me to gather my thoughts and find inner peace.

As I make my way towards the Phra That In Hang, I take in the stunning view of Koh Siray and the Koh Siray pier. The view is breathtaking and never fails to fill me with awe. The clear blue waters of the Andaman Sea stretch out before me, shimmering in the sunlight. The boats anchored at the pier seem tiny and insignificant, and yet they add a sense of liveliness to the peaceful scenery.

As I approach the Phra That In Hang, I am reminded of the importance of mindfulness and the beauty of the present moment. The golden structure glimmers in the sunlight, reflecting the colors of the surrounding nature. I feel a sense of calm wash over me as I take in the intricate details of the structure, the delicate engravings, and the symbols of Buddhist beliefs.

Standing before Phra That In Hang, I am reminded of the vastness and complexity of life. It's a reminder that amidst the chaos and uncertainty of daily life, there is always beauty and peace to be found. I take a deep breath and feel gratitude for this moment of stillness and tranquility.

As I turn to leave, I take one last look at the stunning view of Koh Siray and the pier. The beauty of nature and the peacefulness of the Phra That In Hang fill me with a sense of contentment and hope. I walk away feeling refreshed and renewed, ready to face whatever challenges life may bring.

Thank you for your support
ขอบคุณสำหรับการโหวต
เลิฟนะยู้ววววววว

flower_divider.png

_1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency