Mykonos!

Mykonos!

Let me first tell you a few things straight of the bat; Mykonos is NOT an island for the gay :) It is NOT also just a party island. It is also NOT very crowded in summer. I am saying these things first because lots of people make these assumptions first when they thing about Mykonos. There are obviously truth to all these statements. It is a popular island for the LGBTQ travels, and yes there are places like Tropicana and Super Paradise beach clubs (they are legendary for parties), and yes it can be crowded at those places, but still it is a fairly decent sized island and solitude and pristine beauty can be easily found in Mykonos!

image.png

This is the villa we rented at Mykonos. No, the Peugot-208 doesn't come free with the house, you must rent it separately. It is important to have a car in Mykonos, otherwise, you will be stuck in crowded popular areas near the historical main town of Chora (also called Mykonos). There are buses, and of course there are scooters for rent! Yes, you remeber the last scene of Bourne Identity, I do as well! It was filmed in Mykonos. Its been 20 years since I have seen that movie for the first time and I promised myself back then that I will visit that spot multiple times. I did it back in 2013 for the first time, and I again just a couple of days back... I really like this place!

image.png

My shot of Little Venice in Mykonos with similar angle

You can even see the scooter shop of Marie (Franka Potente), which is now a gift shop. Very little of this waterfront have changed over the last 10-20 years. I can soak up this view all day long and do people watch forever. However, just like any vacation, my second trip to Mykonos must end too, unfortunately!

Background

Ok, I am writing as I am thinking about it, so pardon my usual disorganized thoughts. This was my second trip to Mykonos and our family was basically repeating a trip that we took 9 years back with our older daughter. This time around, with both of them....

We took a ferry (Seajets Worldchampion Jet, which I highly recommend) from Santorini to get to Mykonos. It is little more than 2 hours and a spacious and pleasant journey, unlike any airplane. I had arranged a rental car to show up at the ferry port and from there it is an easy 15 min drive to that rental property above. We stayed there for 7 days and mostly walked around the town whenever I felt like, or spent time at whichever beach I felt like depending on the mood of the kids.

Typical Alley in MykonosClassic Mykonos Apartments
image.pngimage.png

Mykonos (Chora) Town

I really like the narrow allies of the old town around Little Venice and beyond. Notice they white wash the paths too, in this typical pattern, which I am told resembles fish scales. Yeah, they like their fish over there. I absolutely adore the blocky flat roof apartments that you see all over the island and all around cyclades too. Daytime temp was a bit on the warm side but there is almost always a sea breeze and humidity was low. Evenings were wonderful temperature wise and extremely windy. I experienced some of the most gorgeous sunsets from there. More on that later and there was some exciting kite surfing too :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency