This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Czech Republic 1#: The historical center of Prague [ENG-ESP]

Hi! Today I wanted to tell you about a city I visited right after visiting Germany. Of course, all the trips I've posted on Hive are always traveling with the only company of myself and my backpack, but I'm making friends along the way (Except for my trip to Italy, which I went with @vonjerico ).

I took a bus from Berlin to Prague to continue my beer tour haha.

I had met in Germany a guy from Bangladesh named Mesh, who he was traveling next towards Hungary, but days later he would meet me in the Czech Republic because he was also looking forward to visit Prague.

The first thing I did was to go to my hostel to check in, I had booked in a shared room but... I was totally alone! I was all alone! So much better for me. I was during my whole stay without roommates 🤣.

¡Hola! Hoy quería contaros sobre una ciudad que visité justo después de visitar Alemania. Por supuesto, todos los viajes que he publicado en Hive son siempre viajando con la única compañía de mí misma y mi mochila, pero voy haciendo amigos por el camino. (Exceptuando mi viaje a Italia, que fui con @vonjerico )

Cogí un bus desde Berlín hasta Praga para continuar mi tour cervecero jaja.

Había conocido en Alemania a un chico de Bangladesh llamado Mesh, que él viajaba después hacia Hungría, pero días después se reuniría conmigo en la República Checa porque él también tenía ganas de visitar Praga.

Lo primero que hice fue ir a mi albergue a hacer el check-in, había reservado en una habitación compartida pero... ¡Estaba totalmente sola! Así que mucho mejor para mí. Estuve durante toda mi estancia sin compañeros de habitación 🤣.


I had heard how beautiful the historical center of Prague was and I was already seeing from the moment I got on the streetcar that it was indeed so. The Vltava River divided the city and its neighborhoods, and the scenery I could see from the window was beautiful.

So I arrived to the Old Town Square and changed some of the cash I had in euros for Czech crowns, for the rest I usually used card but little things like public transport I never know if in other countries they accept card or cash is necessary (in my country, Spain, to ride the bus usually you either have transport voucher or cash... But you can't pay with the bank card xD) So I always try to carry something, even if it's little.

Había escuchado lo bonito que era el centro histórico de Praga y ya estaba viendo desde que monté en el tranvía y me iba acercando, que en efecto así era. El río Moldava dividía la ciudad y sus barrios, y el paisaje que veía desde la ventanilla era hermoso.

Así que llegué a la plaza de la Ciudad vieja y cambié algo del efectivo que tenía en euros por coronas checas, para el resto normalmente utilizaba tarjeta pero pequeñas cosas como el transporte público nunca sé si en otros países aceptan tarjeta o es necesario el efectivo (en mi país, España, para montar en el bus normalmente o tienes bono de transporte o efectivo... Pero no puedes pagar con la tarjeta del banco xD) De modo que siempre intento llevar algo, aunque sea poco.

What struck me most about this square is obviously the astronomical clock.

Lo que más me llamó la atención de esta plaza, es obviamente el reloj astronómico.

What caught my attention in this square is obviously the astronomical clock. It is a medieval clock, which was built by Hanus, an expert clockmaker of the time who legend has it that once he finished his work, he was blinded so he could not repeat any other like it.

In ancient times, the emperors consulted a lot to astrologers and numerologists regarding the best dates to build something or start something, so also the famous Charles Bridge (so called) began to lay the first stone on a date and exact time that he was advised that it was more favorable.

Now we will go to that bridge, but let's focus on this clock. Every time an hour passes, there is a whole show as those puppets that you see above on the sides begin to parade; some as creepy as a skeleton representing death.

The design of this clock is in the shape of an astrolabe, and can represent up to 5 different ways 5 times. I do not remember exactly what each handle represented, but we can see that in addition to indicating the time, also has represented the zodiac, the sun to indicate whether it is dawn or dusk ... And it varies according to the time of the year. I found it fascinating, honestly.

Es un reloj medieval, que fue construido por Hanus, un experto relojero de la época el cual cuenta la leyenda que una vez que terminó su obra, lo dejaron ciego para que no pudiera repetir ninguna otra igual.

En la antigüedad, los emperadores consultaban mucho a los astrólogos y numerólogos respecto a las mejores fechas para construir algo o empezar algo, por ello también el famoso puente de Carlos (así se llama) se empezó a poner la primera piedra en una fecha y hora exacta que le aconsejaron que era más favorable.

Ahora iremos a dicho puente, pero centrémonos en este reloj. Cada vez que pasa una hora, hay todo un espectáculo ya que esas marionetas que se ven arriba a los lados empiezan a desfilar; alguna tan escalofriante como un esqueleto que representa a la muerte.

El diseño de este reloj tiene forma de astrolabio, y puede representar hasta de 5 formas diferentes 5 tiempos. No recuerdo exactamente qué era lo que representaba cada manilla, pero podemos ver que además de indicar la hora, también tiene representado el zodíaco, el sol para indicar si es amanecer o atardecer... Y va variando según la época del año. Me pareció fascinante, sinceramente.

I continued walking through the center and seeing some works on the street.
I remember that the hooded one was in commemoration of Mozart's Don Giovanni, the one in the middle I don't remember, and the one on the right is in memory of the writer Franz Kafka.

Seguí callejeando por el centro y viendo algunas obras por la calle.
Recuerdo que el encapuchado era en conmemoración a la obra de Don Giovanni de Mozart, la del medio no recuerdo, y la de la derecha del todo es en memoria del escritor Franz Kafka.

I started to walk into what seemed to be the Josefov quarter, the Jewish quarter. I was surprised to see that it was full of the most luxurious and expensive stores.

Empecé a adentrarme en lo que parecía era el barrio Josefov, el barrio judío. Me sorprendió ver que estaba lleno de las tiendas más lujosas y caras.


There were very narrow streets, but in the end I ended up walking on the bridge of San Carlos, which I had told you about previously. Apparently a lot of people pass here every day and every hour, so it is impossible to photograph it without people... It is too touristy, and no wonder.
On the bridge there are many sculptures on the sides, some people take the opportunity to put their craft stalls and sell things.

Habían calles muy estrechas, pero al final caminando acabé en el puente de San Carlos, del que os había hablado previamente. Al parecer pasa muchísima gente por aquí a diario y todas horas, por lo que es imposible fotografiarlo sin gente... Es demasiado turístico, y no es para menos.
En el puente hay muchas esculturas a los lados, algunas personas aprovechan para poner sus puestos de artesanías y vender cosas.

That night I met some friends, Petr and Jana, they didn't speak much English so when they forgot how to say something, they looked for Google translator to communicate it to me or just looked for the picture of the object or thing they didn't know the translation of 🤣. I was with them having a few beers; in Prague beer is very, very cheap and mostly there is a lot of Pilsner, although there is quite a variety.

I went to the neighborhood where they lived, and they told me that "that was the real Prague" since the historical center is quite big, but where people really live, it's like a normal city, not so old and not so artistic. There I was able to have dinner quite cheaply and as I didn't understand anything on the menu, I let them order me something they could recommend.

Esa noche conocí a unos amigos, Petr y Jana, no hablaban mucho inglés así que cuando se les olvidaba cómo decir algo, buscaban el traductor de Google para comunicármelo o simplemente buscaban la foto del objeto o cosa del cual no sabían la traducción 🤣. Estuve con ellos tomando unas cervezas; en Praga la cerveza es muy, muy económica y en su mayoría hay mucha Pilsner, aunque hay bastante variedad.

Fui al barrio en el que vivían ellos, y me dijeron que "eso era la verdadera Praga" ya que el centro histórico es bastante grande, pero donde vive la gente realmente, es como una ciudad normal, no tan antigua ni tan artística. Allí pude cenar bastante barato y como no entendía nada de lo que ponía en la carta, dejé que ellos me pidiesen algo que me pudieran recomendar.

There was not much time left before they closed the kitchen (I always forget that in Spain we dine very late compared to the rest of the world, and sometimes I had to resort to Mcdonald's because it was the only thing left open xD) but in the end they negotiated, I didn't understand a word of what they were talking about, but it seems that the cook agreed to serve me dinner.

Quedaba poco para que cerrasen la cocina (siempre se me olvida que en España cenamos muy tarde respecto al resto del mundo, y a veces he tenido que recurrir a Mcdonald's porque era lo único que quedaba abierto xD) pero al final ellos negociaron, no entendía ni una palabra de lo que estaban hablando, pero parece que el cocinero accedió a servirme la cena.

They ordered for me a pork knee, accompanied by three sauces, and that white stuff I thought it was cheese but it was very spicy, I don't remember what it was. The piece of meat was bigger than my head, those guys saw me hungry haha but in the end they had to help me finish it because it was too much for me.

I will continue narrating my trip through this beautiful country, thanks for reading me!

Me pidieron una rodilla de cerdo, acompañada de tres salsas, y eso blanco pensé que era queso pero picaba mucho, no recuerdo lo que era. El trozo de carne era más grande que mi cabeza, esos chicos me vieron hambrienta jaja pero al final tuvieron que ayudarme a terminarlo porque era demasiado para mí.

Continuaré narrando mi viaje por este hermoso país, ¡gracias por leerme!


All photos have been taken by me, with my then LG Q60 cell phone. The text is 100% of my authorship

Todas las fotos han sido tomadas por mí, con mi entonces móvil LG Q60. El texto es 100% de mi autoría



My social networks/Mis redes sociales:
Writer Instagram | Travel Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Linktree