A Day Out in Gangtok City, Sikkim, India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ (My Sikkim Diary #04)

Hi ๐Ÿ‘‹there, it was my fourth day staying in Sikkim state in India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ. I visited the most important (rural area) tourist spots here in Gangtok ( capital of Sikkim). But on my fourth day I decided to visit the main Gangtok city. So today I'm going to share my wonderful experience of the main Gangtok city tour.

img_3984.jpg

Tashi view point, Gangtok.

Start point:
I started my journey from hotel Sher -E-Punjab at morning 4 am. I hired a car and went to the sunrise ๐ŸŒž point Sayari, of the Gangtok city. It took me 1 hour to get there. I rode a long staircase over a mountain โ›ฐ๐Ÿ˜Ž.

img_3983.jpg

img_3986.jpg

img_3483.jpg

img_5274.jpg

On the early morning sky was little bit cloudy and cold breeze frequently touched my skin. But the mesmerising views kept me warm. It was like a dream. If you are Lucky and Sky is clear then you might seen the little glimpse of mountain Kangchenjunga pick of Himalayas.

img_3981.jpg

Mountain native people are afraid of ghost ๐Ÿ‘ป. So they use some kind of enchanted piece of colourful cloth with ancient Tibetan scripture. They believe it will keep them safe from mountain evil spirits.

My visit to a famous flowers show, Flower Exhibition Centre ๐Ÿ’:
After a while I visited a place nearby a flower show garden. It was 20 minutes walking distance from sunrise point ๐Ÿ‘‰. It presents many variations of flowers ๐Ÿ’from the different parts of Sikkim together under a single roof.

adsc00517.jpg

dsc00519.jpg

img_3474.jpg

dsc00528.jpg

dsc00558.jpg

This place is heaven for all nature lovers. Sikkim is known for its Orchids and Rhedendrons. Well, this place provides numerous options of fauna throughout the year. All flowers is unique and unknown for me. I felt that time,I was in heaven from out the world ๐ŸŒŽ. The beauty and fragrance enchanted me in a good way.

Institute of Tibetology:
I also visited a another beautiful place with Tibetan literature outside Tibet. This place is located nearby the flowers show. Only 5 minutes walking distance.

dsc00459.jpg

dsc00461.jpg

dsc00465.jpg

dsc00466.jpg

This institute has ancient Thangkas (traditional Buddhist scroll paintings),masks, coins ๐Ÿช™, amulet, idols and many other unique items including ritual objects. I never seen this types of unique and unknown ๐Ÿ˜ณ objects before. It was very fascinating for me. I stayed there 2 hours.

The weather wasn't look good ๐Ÿ˜• after morning. It was foggy and raining heavily so I hadn't go to another place to visit. I took shelter nearby restaurants and enjoyed some local momos and waited for the sun ๐ŸŒž.

img_5288.jpg

This chicken momos was really delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹ especially the sauce. Different parts of the city serves you different flavours of momos and its sauces.

It was almost evening when raining ๐ŸŒง was fully stopped. Road was very slippery. It was cold weather so put my winter jacket and went for another destination and enjoying the night life of Gangtok city.

img_4018.jpg

img_3492.jpg

Nightlife in MG Marg, Gangtok city. Marg means road. So MG Marg is basically MG road. It's a very important road. Most of the important shops and hotels, housing are located here. The weather was cold so I had some vegetables momos and Indian milk tea ๐Ÿต here. Every food in here I found so delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ‘Œ

It was 9 am. Everyone in here closed at 10 pm. Mountain peoples wake up early and sleep early ๐Ÿ˜ด. So I went back to my hotel ๐Ÿจ for sleep ๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ˜ด. I ate outside before so didn't bother about foods for the night. It was another memorable tour for me. That's it for today. See you again with my next destination. Until then bye.

Note๐Ÿ“:
Everything in Gengtok city is open very early at the morning and closed before 10pm.

Thursday and Sunday most placed are closed here.

Book hotels in MG Marg, everythings are cheap here. You can visit many tourist spots only by walking on feet. Also you can taste the Tibetan foods, Nepalise food and Indian foods here.

Don't eat at hotel it's very expensive ๐Ÿ˜ซand foods are always same not much variety.

I hope you guys enjoyed my post. Lots of love โค

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency