The Jardin of Luxembourg in Paris - Focusing on the Statues of Famous Women in French History [EN - FR]

Hi dear Hivers and Travelers !

Today, as the working day ended earlier, I had the opportunity to go for a walk in this garden on the Rive Gauche which I don't go to often enough... I particularly wanted to go deeper into a series of elements that I had seen without really paying attention to them : the series 20 queens and illustrious women of French history.

This series was initiated between the years 1843 and 1846 by the Ministry of Fine Arts of the time. If you want to know more about it, I recommend you to follow this link.



When I took my pictures, I tried to make sure that you could see the plaque of each statue, but because of the sun after the rain and its intensity, I realized afterwards that many of them were unreadable... That's why I recommend you to have a look at the link to find the one you couldn't identify !

As it's carved in limestone, the sun really erases the relief and some of them look completely empty, but it's not the case! But I've tried to put their names below to make it easier for you to find them :)



Saint Bathilde, Queen of France (c. 630-680)

Berthe, Queen of France (720-783)

Saint Genevieve, Patron Saint of Paris (423-512)

Mary Stuart, Queen of France (1542-1587)

Clémence Isaure, legendary founder of the Academie des Jeux Floraux

Anne-Marie-Louise d'Orléans, Duchess of Montpensier (1627-1693)

Louise of Savoy, Regent of France (1476-1531)

Margaret of Anjou, Queen of England (with her son Edward) (1429-1482)

Marie de Medici, Queen of France (1573-1642)

Anne de Beaujeu, Regent of France (1460-1522)

Laure de Noves (1307-1348)

Matilda, Duchess of Normandy (1031-1083)

Marguerite of Angouleme, Queen of Navarre (1492-1549)

Valentine of Milan, Duchess of Orleans (1370-1408)

Blanche of Castile, Queen of France (1188-1252)




Here is a general plan of these gardens, I say that in the plural because for me, there are really several in one...

But it is also an opportunity to discover very beautiful species of trees, especially in the summer. This time, as I had to meet a friend, I had to choose and between the plants and the statues, I opted for the queens ^^



View from the exit, facing rue Soufflot and the Pantheon monument, in which very few women are buried !



A few streets further on, towards the boulevard Raspail, I came across this magnificent shop front which, according to the sign, sold books... It must have been at the time, I couldn't check, the curtains were drawn...



Not far from there, it is the building of the Giacometti Institute that catches my eye. This one is so adorned with blue and gold mosaics that you would have to really want to miss it !

It reminds me that I have never visited it, even though I have the wish to do so !

Maybe soon...!(?)



But I still have time to taste this excellent baba au rhum, in a nearby square :D Even when you're in a hurry (or you think you are) it's important to take the time to take your time !



With these good words, I wish you an excellent evening and I hope that this article has given you the desire to know more about this area, this series of statues and the lives of the women they represent.

Thank you for reading and don't hesitate to ask me any questions or requests for clarification :)

Take care of you and your loved ones !

<3

@anttn









Bonjour à tous !

Aujourd'hui, comme la journée de travail s'est terminée plus tôt, j'ai eu l'occasion d'aller me promener dans ce jardin de la Rive Gauche dans lequel je ne me rends pas assez souvent... Je voulais particulièrement approfondir une série d'éléments que j'avais vu sans vraiment y prêter attention : La série 20 reines et femmes illustres de l'histoire de France.

Cette série a été initié entre les années 1843 et 1846 par le ministère de l'époque, chargé des Beaux-Arts. Si vous désirez en savoir plus, je vous recommande de suivre ce lien.



En prenant mes images, j'ai essayé de faire en sorte que l'on voit bien la plaque de chacune des statues, mais à cause du soleil d'après la pluie et de son intensité, je me suis rendu compte par la suite que beaucoup étaient illisibles... C'est pourquoi je vous recommande d'aller jeter un oeil sur le lien afin de trouver celle que vous n'auriez pas pu identifier !

Comme c'est gravé dans le calcaire, le soleil gomme vraiment les reliefs et certaines sembles complètement vides, mais ce n'est pas le cas ! Mais j'ai essayé de vous mettre leurs noms en dessous pour faciliter vos recherches :)



Sainte Bathilde, Reine de France.

Berthe, Reine de France (720-783)

Sainte Geneviève, Patronne de Paris (423-512)

Marie Stuart, Reine de France (1542-1587)

Clémence Isaure, Fondatrice légendaire de l'Académie des Jeux floraux

Anne-Marie-Louise d'Orléans, Duchesse de Montpensier (1627-1693)

Louise de Savoie, Régente de France (1476-1531)

Marguerite d'Anjou, Reine d'Angleterre (avec son fils Édouard) (1429-1482)

Marie de Médicis, Reine de France (1573-1642)

Anne de Beaujeu, Régente de France (1460-1522)

Laure de Noves (1307-1348)

Mathilde, Duchesse de Normandie (1031-1083)

Marguerite d'Angoulême, Reine de Navarre (1492-1549)

Valentine de Milan, Duchesse d'Orléans (1370-1408)

Blanche de Castille, Reine de France (1188-1252)




Voici un plan général de ces jardins, je dis cela au pluriel car pour moi, il y en a véritablement plusieurs réunis en un seul...

Mais c'est aussi une occasion de découvrir de très belles espèces d'arbres, surtout à la belle saison. Cette fois-ci, comme je devait retrouver un ami, j'ai dû choisir et entre les plantes et les statues, j'ai pour une fois opté pour celles des reines ^^



Vue depuis la sortie, face à la rue Soufflot et le monument du Panthéon, à l'intérieur duquel sont enterrées bien peu de femmes pour le coup !



Quelques rues plus loin, vers le boulevard Raspail, je tombe sur cette magnifiques devanture d'une échoppe qui selon la pancarte, vendait des livres... Cela devait être à l'époque, je n'ai pas pu vérifier, les rideaux étaient tirés...



Non loin de là, c'est le bâtiment de l'institut Giacometti qui attire mon regard. Celui-ci est tant paré de mosaïques bleues et dorées qu'il faudrait vraiment le vouloir pour le manquer !

Cela me rappelle que je n'y ai jamais fait de visite, même si ce n'est pas l'envie qui me manque !

Peut-être bientôt..!



Mais j'ai tout de même le temps de déguster cet excellent baba au rhum, dans un square des environs :D Même lorsque on est pressé (ou que l'on croit l'être) il est important de prendre le temps de prendre son temps !



Sur ces bonnes paroles, je vous souhaite une excellente soirée et j'espère que cet article vous aura donné envie d'en savoir plus sur ce quartier, ce jardin et ses environs.

Merci pour votre lecture et n'hésitez pas à me poser vos questions ou demandes de précisions :)

Prenez-soin de vous et de vos proches !

<3

@anttn


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency