Ranca Upas Bandung; Camp for Healing My Breakup Moment

LRM_EXPORT_10601546618036_20191020_000742294-compressed-compressed.jpeg

Hello, Hive people. Do you love camping in the forest? Here is my story about camping at Bandung.

To launch the concept of work-life balance as well as heal my broken hearts, I always try to keep myself busy during the weekend. Monday-Friday work, Saturday-Sunday have a vacation. So, when one of my friends asked me to join the camp at Rancaupas, Bandung, I immediately replied, "I'm in!"

Then, the six of us left for Bandung on Saturday afternoon. I also remember our initial agreement that we left at 10 a.m. From Pamulang, I left at 7, to get rid of the drowsiness after the night I couldn't sleep because I remembered that bad thing again.

Sudimara Station turned out to be quite busy for a Saturday morning when people were off from work. Here is my third time taking the Commuter Line and my first time alone. At the moment, I was always with friends, so I wasn't afraid to get lost. That day, I only relied on the Trafi application on my phone. Also, pray that I don't get lost.

Transiting Tanah Abang Station, I had to take the train to Bekasi station. Although not as crowded as weekdays, Tanah Abang station still feels crowded even though the train is quiet.


Bekasi Station 09.13 WIB
I immediately notified Reza, a friend who invited me to participate in this camping event. I told him that I was already at the station. Instead of rushing to pick me up, he just woke up.

Annoyed? Of course.

"You said we had an appointment at 10, but you just woke up at this hour?!" spit me out via WhatsApp message.

"Yeah, I have to get the car first."

I would have groaned if he didn't hurry to get the car. Not to mention the distance from Cikarang to Bekasi and the traffic jam calculation is enough for me to perform Tawaf and Umrah first. Yes, it's a joke. And the weather in Bekasi is burning. Hell has moved to Bekasi, I guess.

I was never able to move on from the station. While waiting for Reza, I sat on the station platform to remember when traveling to Purwokerto by train was fun. It feels so special to be able to go so far by train.

Tired of waiting for almost an hour, I tried a video call with a classmate at college. Coincidentally, one of my seniors was in Purwokerto. Usually, I will feel embarrassed when video calls in public places. I'm just lazy to make calls, but lately, I've become addicted and started to get used to calling people.

"Wi, you broke up, huh?" said my friend on the other side.

"Ha?" My phone line is closed. Why are you suddenly talking about my failed relationship?

At 11 P.M., Reza just informed him that he had almost arrived at Bekasi Station. I finally exited the station and braved the scorching sun that seemed to be in the four cardinal directions. Damn, it's so hot!

Waited at the near of police station, the car finally arrived. After entering and cooling myself under the air conditioner, I immediately grumbled.

"We're leaving at 10, aren't we? What time is it, huh?"

Reza just smirked. His friend was silent. And we still have to wait for a newlywed couple who wants to go camping. Okay, I'm steadfast to wait again.


Bekasi to Cikarang: Towards a place where there are four suns
"If Bekasi has one sun, it means Cikarang has four suns, Wi. It's hottest," Reza told me. I stay quiet while enjoying the AC that sometimes doesn't feel cold.

And yes, Cikarang is hot!

After picking up another couple and dropping off a friend in Cikarang, we finally left for Bandung. Luckily the roads that day were not so congested. Because I was sleepy, so I decided to sleep for a while.


Heading to Rancaupas and I Know Nothing

IMG_20191012_164946.jpg

Choosing sleep is the only right thing. I'm so stupid on the road, especially to read a map. The important thing is that when I was literate, I had arrived at the gate of Rancaupas. The cold air of Bandung has begun. I remember the first time I had a study tour to Bandung when I was in middle school. Hahaha.

It turns out that Rancaupas is very crowded. A lot of people are boisterous. Many family groups spend their weekends here. Several large buses choose to do a study tour in Rancaupas.

IMG_20191012_170554.jpg

IMG_20191012_170614.jpg

At first glance, my desire to find a quiet campsite had to vanish. When we got there at five o'clock, we immediately rushed to find a stall to set up our tent. The sky was already a little gray at that time, afraid of rain suddenly falling.

The tent is up, the sky is getting cloudy, but it's not going to rain yet. Reza, Kiki, and Kiki's boyfriend went straight to the prayer room and bought firewood for our bonfire tonight. I, Darwis, and Indri took turns guarding the tent. The atmosphere in the evening was getting busier. They're singing and talking. Anyway, very crowded seems like a market.

IMG_20191012_170733.jpg

Towards sunset, it was drizzling. The air was getting colder and colder. The three of us decided to enter the tent. The other three haven't come back yet, apparently taking shelter in the shop. Hunger began to creep into my stomach, so I just ate a snack as a hunger booster.


The Rain is Over, Bonfire, and Karaoke Unsettled

IMG_20191012_213020.jpg

The best thing about camping is playing guitar and singing in front of the campfire. After the rain stopped—it finally stopped, even though the weather forecast said it would continue until midnight—we continued our evening activities by singing because no one brought a guitar and no one couldn't play with it. Play a song from Youtube, plug it into the speaker, and start singing.

Most of the other tent occupants did the same. They usually bring guitars. We just had fun playing loud music and shouting at each other with our neighbors.

What's interesting about camping events is there are groups—whether scouts or not—who are doing training. Evening until early morning they were busy screaming like any hazing ever on campuses or schools.


Sunrise and Deer Breeding

IMG_20191119_235159.jpg

I woke up early in the morning because I couldn't sleep well. I wore the wrong costume and didn't bring a sleeping bag, so I only wore a sarong. It's cold. But that morning, I felt excited waiting for the morning sun. Even though when you're in the mountains, you always choose to wake up in the afternoon. Hahaha.

The main reason is I want to have photos to feed my Instagram. Well, it was possible to have the best photos in Rancaupas, although not many.

IMG_20191013_070207.jpg

IMG_20191013_062353.jpg

IMG_20191013_064606.jpg

IMG_20191013_064602.jpg

Deer breeding is the best spot while there. I like! Unfortunately, I did not dare to take a photo with the deer. Fear of being hit. Even though the deer don't go down, huh. :(

One word for the first time camping in Rancaupas: happy!

IMG-20191113-WA0001.jpg

So, what's your camping story? Would you like to tell me?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency