Discover Romania - Ruins of The Vodita Monastery

DSC_0047.jpg

Most of my "sort of traveling posts" that I have on Hive are from my home country, Romania, and the place I am currently living in. A piece of land that has endured plenty of battles over centuries and that still remains a place worth visiting for folks around the world. Not the perfect traveling destination in the world, but it definitely has some really great places to visit.

DSC_0034.jpg

DSC_0030.jpg

DSC_0031.jpg

DSC_0037.jpg

For today's post for the community of #haveyoubeenhere I have "The Ruins of The Vodita Monastery" presented mostly in pictures, and not in words. A worth visiting spot that is less than 10 kilometres away from my place, away from any urban noise, in the middle of the nature, and full of life. I just visited it a few hours ago and thought it would be nice to share it with you guys as well.

This area is my type of ZEN place where any material goal, or related frustration fades away... and no, I'm not thinking of becoming a monk, but I do have my interior monk that appreciates this types of places and feelings. Probably some of you have it too.

DSC_0039.jpg

DSC_0041.jpg

DSC_0043.jpg

DSC_0044.jpg

I confess that I am not a convinced christian that has a plethora of information regarding monasteries from my country or any other country, nor that I am good at history, hence I will simply copy/paste some bulk info regarding the ruins of the monastery as to have a grain of history attached to the pics, and of course quote the source for the info, as usual.

The Vodița Monastery from Mehedinți County represents the oldest documented voivodship foundation and at the same time the first monastic settlement in our country administered autonomously (samovlasty), according to the rules of the oriental church established by Saint Basil the Great.
It was built between 1370-1372 by Saint Nicodemus at the expense of the voivode Vladislav I.
source

DSC_0045.jpg

DSC_0047.jpg

DSC_0048.jpg

DSC_0049.jpg

Enough with the history 😃.

Although the ruins are quite close to my home I haven't walked to it, so you know. I drove myself there, as I mentioned above, for about 10 kilometres, or even less, and got to the spot quite fast.

Most of the road to it is part of the European 70 road, and there's less than a kilometre to be driven once you exit the E70 that is not the best in the world, and it's kind of dirty. It's manageable by any car in the world though, and it's really worth taking it.

Near the ruins of the monastery there's a pretty new one, that is inhabited by monks, and it might make the topic for tomorrow's future post. In today's one I am only sharing with you the ruins... and a small lizard that was sun bathing on the rocks.

DSC_0050.jpg

DSC_0056.jpg

DSC_0057.jpg

DSC_0064.jpg

DSC_0061.jpg

Now, if you really liked the pics above you should know that I trespassed some rules to shoot them, one of them being of not stepping on the ruins... I have to admit that I read the warning, but got soaked by the process of snapping the photos and... did what I had to do.

While leaving, a monk came and rebuked me, but I didn't care at all because I already had my material and don't like monks too much. Selfish son of a bitch, I know... Or should I say that art prevails. Hope you liked the place and the pics and if any of you ever gets in the area you should definitely pay a visit.

Don't crawl the ruins though... it's forbidden.

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency