That's one amazing motherfucker!

I was watching some nature videos and shit on YouTube the other day when I stumbled upon this amazing little fucker. It really blew my mind, and probably will your's too. Enjoy:

That camouflage is just so amazing and if it wasn't for the video description providing the species common and scientific name I wouldn't be so sure it's a real insect or cgi 😅🤣

Lichen Katydid (Markia hystrix, Family: Tettigoniidae), Costa Rica, Cartago Province.

Here's some more info from Wikipedia:

Markia hystrix is a species of katydid in the subfamily Phaneropterinae. It occurs in South America. A common name for it is lichen katydid because it lives surrounded by Usnea lichen on which it sustains itself.

Did I say some? Well, I meant the only. I checked the usual other sources like EOL (encyclopedia of life) but I couldn't find much info either. I guess it's a poorly described species and honestly I am too lazy to dub into the scientific literature to find more, if there's any, info about it. I guess
even knowing such a weird creature is out there is enough :)

By the way, the guy who uploaded this video has some other cool videos too, like this crazy looking spider know as the "Demon Horned Orb-Weaver Spider" (Macracantha Arcuata):

Or this Flatid Planthopper Nymph (Flatidae, Fulgoroidea) that looks like a walking pop corn, lmao:

He even has a video of what is imo the weirdest looking insect, the globe-bearing Treehopper (Bocydium globulare) which looks like a helicopter bug:

So yeah, check his channel out, definitely worth a sub if you are into nature and stuff.

Ok, enough weird critters for today!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency