Sharkoon Pure Writer | Unboxing my first mechanical keyboard

Keyboards didn't really matter until recently

Although I have to admit that being in a relationship with an IT guy has helped me see the importance of good computers/laptops/telephones/gadgets over buying stuff that may possibly break sooner, before I never really bothered to dig deep into reviews to find out what keyboard I should buy.

Things have changed, although this time it was my boyfriend doing the digging (thankfully), I really didn't care much about all his keyboard chatter until the actual thing arrived. The first one, appeared to be the wrong one for us, as it made the loud clicking sound people mention in reviews, that's known to be heard when using different types of mechanical keyboards. I knew absolutely nothing about mechanical keyboards (and their existence) until a few months ago when our first (wrong purchase) arrived in our home.

Which mechanical keyboard did we need then?

The reason that my boyfriend aimed for a mechanical one in the first place was simply because he has had a lot of ergonomic issues for a few months which we tried to solve otherwise first. Without result, so someone mentioned have a look at mechanical ones, they are expensive but for me, it was the answer to my problems. And that was it, the focus went to find a mechanical keyboard and while he was searching for the right one (again) I heard about different colors and their advantages. It first sounded like we both would prefer a different one, but I thought I should just let him decide as he's sitting in the office more hours a week than me currently, so it's mainly his workplace.

These things are expensive

I mean, for some 120 to 150 bucks may not sound like a big deal, but I had just paid off our credit in full and that meant little reserves left, and with some other things needing replacement, I didn't feel very happy hearing these prices. But I also knew it's his (and mine) body that is hurting with non-ergonomic positions and workplace which we should avoid at our age, after all, we're not getting any younger. An old colleague mentioned that he has a company that can import them and so the keyboard he had chosen was a bit cheaper than buying it here.

Sharkoon Pure Writer Red Switches US Layout

I remember that the search for the keyboard with Numpad made it harder, we both prefer having the Numpad in a keyboard, and the layout needed to be US. In the end, this keyboard from Sharkoon, the pure writer with red switches seemed to be the best fit for us and so it was ordered. After two weeks of waiting, it arrived. Below are the unboxing pictures:

The box looks pretty sharp if you ask me.

Even the included manual looks nice.

The keyboard is covered in plastic.

The needed cables..

Keyboard unpacked.. It looks promising. But is it what we need?

The verdict

Is this keyboard from Sharkoon, the most expensive keyboard so far in this household, worth the extra bucks? An absolute YES!
Without a doubt is this the best keyboard I've ever used in my life, it's super smooth, it does not make the weird clicking sound like the other one we had and sent back, and the lighting program you can set to your liking is pretty cool.

It's not something that I would pay more for, but it's a nice addition.
I notice that I have less pain in my hands after I've worked for a few hours. So much better than sitting behind my laptop and also using any other keyboard before. I totally get why someone would pay more money for a keyboard like this. I don't know if these other (even more) expensive ones are worth the extra money on top of this price, maybe I will find out one day in the future.

Do you have a mechanical keyboard? Do you prefer this over a normal one? Leave a comment if you like to share your experience..

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency