Milk crate computer project: Adding the components and testing

Once the case is prepped I start adding hardware to the crate. Taking an old ATX motherboard, power supply, video card and other parts I put them into the crate.

Plug everything in but not permanently, since I need to boot up the computer and make sure all is well before zip tying everything in the case. Sometimes things do not go to plan, so I make sure its all working before affixing everything. Sometimes the GPU does not work with old motherboards. Or a board I thought was good ends up to be bad. Though I tend to power up machines before keeping boards that are good, so I would be able to tell if the board is non functional.

I start by plugging in the 24pin main power supply cable and the aux power cable at the upper left corner of the motherboard. Since there is not alot of room in this milk crate it takes some extra time to get everything plugged in. But after a few tries I am able to hook up that 4pin aux power cable. I need to be careful not to cut my hand on the heatsink fins. They are real sharp and ive bled many times working on computers from the sharp parts on the heat sink of the CPU and mosfets.

An old IDE hard drive was left over from another old computer build so I used it in this machine to install the operating system. Using it on a project like this is perfect. It probably wont live that much longer, so being in these weird systems for the rest of its life it will fulfill its purpose.

I go into the BIOS to make sure the machine is detecting all the RAM and the hard drive attached to the machine. I also update the BIOS around this time as it has been out of days for many years. This is done off camera, took me some time to find the bios .bin file to update the board with.

Once everything is plugged in and plug in the power, video and USB for keyboard and mouse. And get to booting into Ubuntu. By using a USB stick I put the OS on the drive and then use that to install the operating system onto the machine.

LBRY Video Link

Previous parts to this project:

@solominer/milk-crate-computer-project-setting-up-the-container-for-hardware


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency