Python Libraries: 'Who Didn't Vote'

I know for a fact that some people comment on my posts because I am generous with comment votes. Is my content OK? I would like to think so, but I have never thought of myself as a great writer.

I just throw this stuff out, stick it through Grammarly, give it the 'once over', and then it's out.

image.png

Some people comment but they do not vote. It's been a bugbear and pet hate of mine since I joined STEEM in March 2018. I always voted if I commented, it showed the poster some love even when I had little VP. Why wouldn’t you?

… but I have 25HP so I can’t give you a 100% vote as I won’t have any VP left...’

'… but you already have $70 of votes, so my little vote won't make a difference...'

I am not asking for your full vote. If you want to give it then fine. If you have 25HP it will make barely any difference. It doesn’t matter in terms of reward value; it’s simply a mark of consideration, or ‘thanks’.


image.png
...'I like to give out comment votes, it gives a little to commenter and we both gain in terms of rewards. My words are not aimed at the people in this image'...

10% will work, and understand that if you are one of those guys who ritually only comments on Orca posts only expecting a comment vote, it's not just me who finds this practice irritating.

People like this come and go, it's been the same for the last few years and my 'bullshit commenter' radar is well-tuned to intercept them.

I could warble on about this topic, but the point of all this is now I can launch a script to see who's taking the piss.

… and besides, it's a great excuse to add to my GitHub repository (this code will be added soon) and brush off the Python cobwebs which seem to grow extremely fast.

Theydidntvote.JPG

@pizzabot, @pinmapple, and @poshtoken I don't expect votes from, the rest of the red marks…, I am not calling you out, but seriously.., don't expect a comment vote though I may well comment back.

Portions of this Python script were taken from my yet-unpublished RandomVoter script. It still needs a partial rewrite but is fully working and used by me daily.

getlastpost.JPG

Function 'getlastpost' does just that, it returns a Beem.Comment object which is the last post made by the account via passed argument 'account'

commenters.JPG

Function get_commenters returns a list of users who dropped a comment on the ‘lastpost’

… and finally get_nonvoters cross-references the commenters with the voters on the post, and displays the sordid details.

get_nonvoters.JPG

I found this part the toughest as the Beem documentation for the ActiveVotes Beem.vote method comes supplied with no examples.

After farting around with it for a while, I noted it returned a Beem.vote table which I was struggling to extract data from.

My methods are hardly the best, but I found I could change the whole table into a string and then use some split string jiggery pokery to get the voters' data out.

…. ‘use whatever works, however crude it may appear’…

main.JPG

The script is hung together with a tiny main loop that exits when the data is shown.

In more recent times, I get a ton of blockchain errors always with the node 'https://rpc.ausbit.dev’ as the primary culprit.

I guess there is a list of nodes somewhere in the libraries that needs editing, but so far I have been unable to find it.

When running the script (and other ones that use BEEM), they always work but look incredibly untidy with all this bullshit scrolling up the screen.

errors.JPG

If anyone has any clues on how to fix this, then please drop me a comment and I will reward you appropriately.

whodidntvote.py can now be found at https://github.com/BrynRogersTHG/HIVE-Blockchain---Hive-Who-Didnt-Vote-/tree/main/.idea

Meanwhile, if you would like me to run this script against your latest post, just to see those 'terrible people' who have commented but are not voting for you.., then drop me a comment.

Please feel free to comment and criticize my code. I am a beginner Python coder, so don't expect perfection... . and ...don't take all this too seriously...

RedLine.png

  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
119 Comments
Ecency