Tidying Up This Small 3D Printing Workbench

Hello Everyone,

The 3D printing experience here has been improving daily.

For the first time ever, I didn't need to mess around with the Z-offset or bed leveling, had no adhesion issues, and even completed this 2 part print without having to start over and make minor adjustments. This might be a first..
Usually it takes me at least 2-5 attempts to get the adhesion and first layer just right. It's a tedious process.
There are many reasons for this, but let's just say after deconstructing this printer a time or two and becoming very acquainted with which parts need more tightening/less tightening, I have a pretty good mental map of everything going on with the printer, and the bed has now found it's goldilocks zone so to speak and I haven't had to mess with the level in a few days.

This is a relief because it means I will be able to focus more on designing and less on troubleshooting soon.

First I would like to talk about "This small workbench" ..


image.png


For a 3D printer, I consider this small, but doable.
It becomes unmanageable pretty quickly however with the limited surface space.

There's a story behind it.

I had a neighbor a couple of years ago who didn't want it.
He didn't know what it was exactly or what it was ever intended for.. I too cannot determine what this thing was ever made for, and it appears to be cheaply made, but cheaply made in a strong way, as that top slab is compressed particle board stuff but its super thick and overall this bench is extremely heavy and not easy to move around.

It has this sliding table that comes out, and during 3D printing work, this is a great thing to have.
It doesn't get in the way and usually I only need about 6 inches extended.

The neighbor gave it to me suggesting it was useless and "Take it if you want this hunk of junk and can think of a use for it."

I was just standing there thinking "One man's trash is another man's treasure" because I loved this thing the second he showed it to me and I knew I would one day find the perfect use for it, I thanked him and promptly got this "hunk of junk" out of his way :D

On the slide out table, a part of the Ender 3 V2 is placed, a handy little slide out drawer that I personally find to be more of a hinderance than convenience, due to the fact that it hangs up on the Y axis pulley tensioner.
Some people love it, but I just don't like it.
Instead I place some stackable containers that I can easily pull out when needed.


Today I printed a:
Mini Pliers Rack
by southbaygsr June 11, 2021


image.png
image.png
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4883661

I chose to print this because it looks relatively simple and I knew there wouldn't be much I would need to worry about in terms of the print succeeding.

It turned out I was right and this print went super smooth.

I snapped a few photos of the process, let's check it out.


image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png


Everything went so good, and I find this print to be beautiful!
There's not much I can find to complain about.
Can improvements be made? Sure, there is always room for improvement.
In this case, I'm currently a little on the low side for flow rate, and may start making very small adjustments to further dial it in, but overall the results I am getting are the best I've yet to produce with this Ender 3 V2.


Filament used: GIZMODORKS
Layer Height: 0.2 mm

The GIZMODORKS filament is pretty nice. It's nothing fancy but it's good quality from what I can see. I bought a 4 pack a couple months ago which contained 250 kg rolls, red, blue, green, and yellow. Basic colors that are boldly bright and shiny. I like it.

After all is said and done, I feel like my 3D printing workbench is a bit more tidy today, and I'm really happy to be producing some attractive looking prints.

What should I print next? Blast suggestions down in that comment box!


image.png

That's all for today, thanks for stopping by and have a great day! ~~@print3dpro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency