Replacement Parts

Hello Everyone,

Just a quick update.
Today I received some replacement parts for the Ender 3 V2.

I'm taking the day off because I need to mentally prepare for the possibility of failure again.

I feel very confident that I've figured out what the problem is with the layer shifting, but I've been wrong every step of the way so far with this process, so I'm not ready to celebrate just yet.

Here are some things that I thought might be causing the problem.


100_0053.jpg

It's pretty wild that Creality has these very nice metal machined replacement tensioners for the Ender 3 V2. when the stock tensioners are very prone to failure

The roller wheels are not made by Creality, but a company called SIMAX3D out of China and they have great reviews for the quality. Visual inspection concurs, they are good, little doubt with my past mechanical experience that these roller wheels are indeed very high quality.

Now back to the pully tensioners. Let's talk about the stock one's.

These stock pully tensioners will break if you don't know your own strength!

Here is a photo of the stock Y tensioner: (old photo)


image.png


What you see is a PLASTIC piece being utilized as a pressure fitting for a metal hex bolt.
I wish I was making that up, but just look at it .. a plastic blue knob PULLS on this, and I just can't fathom WHY such a design problem like this would occur, surely it's prone to breaking because it broke for me!
It's becoming very apparent that buying a stock Ender 3 V2 will require ridiculous amounts of luck if you don't want to spend more money for replacement parts.. I question if it's designed to be so forgiving! (?)

I was able to print a tensioner that someone from the 3D printing community designed.


image.png
Ender 3 Pro Y belt tensioner
by SkymanOne February 03, 2021


Without this fix, this Ender would be non functional completely.

In case anyone is wondering how I got the stock one to hold for the replacement print, hot glue.. and low tension.


image.png
Old photo


Having discovered the flaw in this design, I can say that I was rather unhappy about this, and still am.

Creality should upgrade some components on this machine before selling more units in my opinion.

So I can say with full confidence that I needed the pully tensioners at the very least, (the replacement print has problems, its not square, due to poor printing quality at the time) but the roller wheels were part of the troubleshooting for the mainboard problem. (if that's even the problem!) And was probably a purchase that was not needed, in fact I'm certain I didn't need them.

I like the clear roller wheels anyway and will likely just slap them on just because I have them and they look nice :D
I can always keep the stock one's for replacements later on if I need them.


100_0054.jpg


The above photo is the current state of my workspace.
And it will stay that way for the entirety of today while I further process what I need to do.

I can find a lot of positive in all of this, despite my mood seeming slightly irritated.

The positive is this has been great learning experience, and the knowledge I've obtained by having to troubleshoot all of this has given me some insight where I may be able to help others who are having similar problems and might not know where to start.

I really like this printer, despite obvious design flaws and apparent cost corner cutting by Creality.

I think for an experienced 3D printing engineer, (who already knows what needs replacing/altering) this would make a great buy.
I actually don't think it's great for a beginner, because of the issues it has. These issues are somewhat easy to fix if you know what to look for, but for the novice, months might be wasted spent, and even worse... some might give up altogether.

That's all for today, hopefully the next post will be some great news.
I feel confident that it will be.

Thanks for stopping by, have a great day! ~~@print3dpro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency