My SMS controlled water supply system

Dear friends,

Today, I just finished compiling and testing my codes for Arduino and SIM900 Arduino module. I have one land plot and going to grow avocado plants in coming raining season. I will be able to grow 30 avocado plants 18ft and 20 feet apart from one another. And I am going to install SMS controlled water sprinkling system for my plants as below.

image.png

And I have already constructed a water tank to provide water to the plants in summer. My land plot is only half an acre so I hope the water tank is sufficient enough for the plants and to hold water from one water tanker.

IMG_20240108_151841.jpg

My land plot is about 15 miles away from my home and I am going to controller the motor pumps for the sprinkling system with SIM900 Arduino module and an Arduino Uno board from my home. And I am going to install water level sensing system to know if the tank has enough water. For that, I will use three float which for triggering the levels of water.

IMG_20240112_174020.jpg

IMG_20240112_174153.jpg

And I have tested the codes for them already. How the codes work is as follow.

  • I can send SMS message to switch on one pump or both (but I will use one pump at a time.)
  • I can check the status of the switches (the motor switches and water level switches) by sending 'STATUS' sms message and the Arduino will send me back the switch status message.
    And the codes I have tested is at my GitHub page as below. The codes I have tested is for one switch but I can expand and modify it as required.

https://github.com/princekham/GSM/blob/c0551341a5a50d44fd4925906e279cbb5e86e2cb/Avocado_plot.ino

I have tested with my phone and I was happy that it worked as I desired because I have been working on it since yesterday.

Screenshot_2024-01-12-17-56-36-046_com.google.android.apps.messaging.jpg

For the motor pumps and pipe lines, I have chosen them already and have to order from another town. And for the power supply, because there is no grid nearby my plot, I am going to use solar panel and a battery with a DC water pump. I am going to design and test a system for it. And I will need to build a small house for sheltering the system. See you again until next time.

@princekham
Myanmar
12th Jan 2024

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency