Wasteland

0083515b_8f2b_4809_aefe_d8299ce2cf45.jpeg
That’s me from one of my skits on YouTube. This one is about knowing who you truly are on the inside, and accepting that person.

The fight surrounds me the dark descends
Again
Something bright wakes within me
And it begins
How deep will the rabbit hole go this time
Will it even end
Who will be there to judge me
For my sins

I wish that I could tell you
I know how this battle goes
But the dark surrounds me and I’m alone
Broken and beat this dark is cold
Nobody to lean on no soul to hold
But here I stand as I look within
And muster the strength to fight again

My head held high but I am ashamed
I ignore my failures as the bright takes aim
And I remember when the dark was a friend
I lost years accepting that blindness within
And as bright and dark battle it out
All the years come crashing down

I sat in rubble wondering what to do with all the pain
For years I accepted the dark but now it’s grey
I don’t have to be ashamed these scars are mine
This is as an outsider’s body an outcast’s mind

Through the grey haze I saw a wasteland
An apocalyptic vision of the blood on my hands
And as the dust settled tidy and grey at my feet
I realized the bright, and the dark had always been me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency