Syncope (Original Poetry)

PaperArtist_2021-05-14_12-02-28.jpg

Image Source Edited by me

Syncope

Take me
Drag me from this reality
To the edge of nothingness
Suspend me in the ether
Hold me in eternity
For only a moment
As I tremble
Then carry me back
Through the fuzziness
Drop me
So I can bleed back into existence
Through labored breaths
Twitching
As I settle back
Into myself

divider.png

Sometimes, I like to write about random non-poetic things. Sometimes I just browse through wiki articles and pick up a subject. This time I chose to write about syncopies (pronounced sink-o-pee[s]). A syncope is basically just another word for fainting. I have the good fortune to be "afflicted" with a rare form of syncope called laughing syncope. Basically when I laugh really hard, I faint for a second. It's not really an affliction as it doesn't really affect my life. In fact, most people don't notice when it happens, even when right next to me. It's actually kind of funny. It has happened to me 3 or 4 times in total not counting the many times in which I caught myself before going completely out. I have always been sitting or on the ground in some fashion so I was never in any danger.

Anyway, I tried to capture what it feels like in this poem. Enjoy. Please let me know your thoughts. Do you have any experience with fainting? Do you have any questions you want to ask me? Let me know in the comments.

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency