Rainy Ribbons


PaperArtist_2021-10-06_15-45-27.jpg
Image taken and edited by me

Rainy Ribbons 🎀

It caught my eye
As my gaze flew past
The sky full of grays
And overcast
Preparations
For a funeral mass
Mourning a life
Too soon passed

The sky opened up
The drops fell fast
And weighed down my soul
As they drizzled past
Hiding the tears
I never cast
Mourning a life
Too soon passed

In so many ways
The haze seemed to cast
A shadow on me
Of days long passed
On the sight of the ribbon
Drops fell at last
Mourning the lives
Too soon passed

divider.png

I wrote this after I saw some pink ribbons tied to trees in a local church graveyard. We had a tragic death in our town when a child passed away recently. I find the death of children to be exceptionally saddening. It started raining, and the rain began to soak the ribbons. It seemed as if the Earth itself was mourning this child. I have experienced a fair amount of death in my life. Seeing those ribbons had an unexpected effect on me in that it brought back all of those experiences and memories to the forefront of my thoughts. I penned this as an expression of that.

Please let me know your thoughts on this piece. Have you ever been similarly affected by the sight of something?

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency