Gut


PaperArtist_20210216_095607.jpg
Image sourced from Wikipedia and modified by me.

Gut

My sadness
Lurks in the bowels
Of my melon belly
Calling out to the emptiness
Full of insatiety
Cursing me with lethargy
Pulling fear strings
Like reigns
Driving me in circles
As I spiral
Into a love
of my blinders,
Saving me
From the danger
of acknowledgment
While I snub
The gift of desperation

I carry my happiness there
Weighing it down
with adipose regret
And inadequate sleep
Trapping it in the memories
Of the man I once was
And the warrior I had become.
I eat away at it
In pictures
And quiet moments
Times when reality relents
And permits digression

It churns
Murmuring warnings
Of diverticula
Deriding and taunting me
Wielding my choices
Like flagella
Perforating my psyche
Rendering me dejected
As I reach
For another serving
Of my prison

divider.png

What's buzzing,Hivers? I have been wanting to write about the struggle with weight gain for a while now, but I could never really capture it. It always came off as either too comical or overly emotional. This is the first time that I felt able to express the underlying depressive nature of the issue without getting too sappy.

Have you had struggles with weight issues. Could you relate to this piece? Do you have your own thoughts on the matter? Please feel free to share them below.

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency