Everflow — A poem

From high soaring emotions to devastating depression,
I feel as if I had seen it all by now.

The soaking feeling of accomplishment,
To the sinking whirlpool of despair,
I feel as if I had seen it all by now,
Even though I now know that the world is ever filled with surprises around every corner,
Waiting with its bared fangs
Ready to bite down the ignorant.

I have watched my days go from slow to fast before halting into another state of staleness,
But I did not realise that this time,
With its stagnant station,
Life had brought in a new sense of horror.

I've tasted fulfilled dreams this year;
Had adventure and excitement dance to the melancholic melody in the palace of my consciousness.
I've learned how it felt to give birth to new sets of desires,
And felt the soil crumble underneath my fingers as I buried the old ones on my barren lands.

I've relived agony,
Had the bile taste of sorrow sully my mouth as I drank wine with my demons,
I ran from fears only to encounter new ones at every turn,
And I hid under broken bridges until the sun began to shine once more.

But even with all that I've felt and known,
With all the irises grown and forloned
I still feel like I am but a child who is only six,
Gazing at the world with terrified eyes whenever the sky got leaden.

Tiny feet running across the unknown streets,
Seeking shelter in the smiles of strangers,
Yearning for comfort,
With a heart that is heavy,
But still pure enough to feel content
With just a small bar of chocolate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency