Why is it so hot? Ohhhhh, now I remember...

I hear him
quietly close the door behind him.

He thinks I am asleep.

But my thinking mind
has kept me up
since well before sunrise.

It's hot.

I'm laying in bed
wearing only underwear,
a light sheet draped over me
for the mentally-induced
sense of "safety" it brings,
but it's so hot
I could throw it off in a heartbeat.

Even with the windows open
and the fan on low all night long
at 4:55am
at this latitude
it is hot.

I don't need to get up yet.

Yes, I want to start drinking water
and go for a run
before it gets even worse
but the day is early;
the sun yet to break over the trees,
so I linger
on my sweaty side of our bed
a little longer.

I'm up.

Far out it's hot.

It's late January
and summer has finally arrived.

It's only about two months late.

Mostly naked in the kitchen
he smiles at me
as he kisses me hello.

We talk about how hot it is
and we remember:
Oh yes,
this is what a Brisbane summer
is really like.

How did we forget?

Image taken by me outside our lovely, very hot home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency