Tug of war (Original Poem)

Tug of war

In my veins, like a river, I can feel
Flooding and rushing to lungs
Those won't get a clear puff
And the brain that won't cease depicting
Horror and fear of pain.

Generations of fake peace
Whilst listening to the ticking of a metronome
The sea was my tranquilizer
Until these nightmares of fireballs in the middle of the dark sky came.

When will it be?
When we close our doors and call it a night
Dogs quiet, beds made and ready
All things that we were looking for, found.

Senseless has been all
Maniac Tyrants, playing chess with their hollow arguments
Moving soulless uniformed robots
Unsound creatures, just pawns.

In the devilish of times, very talkative heroes always preaching on a screen
Whilst on the real land, the only thing that can be heard is the wails of mothers, of the daughters.

The same siren song that has been ringing for hundreds, thousands of years over the dark and cold soil,
And it surely is disheartening
And it downplays all hope in us.

1646323146542.png
Picture taken and edited by me in Buenos Aires, September 2019.

According to one of my muses, Nina Simone, the duty of Art should be the depiction of the times, and I think that it is. These last few days we woke up in shock, watching as the flame of war is still alive as it was 70 years ago. It is a sad view, and it causes a lot of frustration not knowing what to do to end it.

I felt inspired by my disappointment and fear, even with rageful feelings that circulate in my head when I think of all the unnecessary suffering in the world right now. As much as we want to believe that we humans are evolving, growing, getting better with technology and communication, we are also powerless pieces in a much larger game dominated by cruel, money, and power-hungry beings.

I went directly to the Blockchain Poets community to share my stuff and I found out that many of your poems fellow writers are also inspired by all of these events. It is not surprising, because, in times like this, it is unsettling to watch what is happening in Ukraine.

I hope that we can all unite to minimize violence in the world.

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency