ZERO ZONE / ZONA CERO (English-Spanish)

UA_Flight_175_hits_WTC_south_tower_9-11_edit.jpeg
Source image the Machine Stops by Robert J Fisch Wikimedia Commons


That morning of the terrorist attack against the World Trade Center towers in Manhattan September 11 2001 I went for a walk to Parque del Este, a large and beautiful park in Caracas. Something very strange happened to me, when I was arriving at the park I felt an oppressive pain in my chest, I was very scared, first it was mild, but then stronger. I had never felt a pain like that. I was going to ask for help, but then I decided to go back home. If anything happened to me my family would help me. When I got home no one was home, but instinctively I turned on the TV, the pain in my chest had subsided. It was then that I saw the images of the bombing, it looked like one of those American disaster movies. But I listened to the news and it wasn't a movie, it was happening in reality. Planes had been diverted from their route and had crashed into the two towers of the World Trade Center in New York. I have seen the images again several times, I have seen pictures, and so many years later I cannot understand that there are human beings capable of doing something like that. So much hatred and evil is very difficult for me to understand. The same thing happens to me with the Nazi Holocaust and the atomic bombs dropped on so many innocent people in Hiroshima and Nagasaki during World War II. I don't know why my heart felt that something very terrible was happening at that time. In those days of the attack on the twin towers, with great pain and compassion, I wrote the poem I am sharing with you; it is a kind of prayer:


ZERO ZONE

Immense black heart
of Manhattan.

I pray for peace.

Faces weeping at noon
at Saint Patridge Cathedral.

I pray for peace.

Love of men
in that hell.

I pray for peace.

For all the innocent human beings
who died that day.

I pray for peace.

For all the innocent beings
who are suffering all over the planet.

I pray for peace.

For the human beings
who still have hope.

I pray for peace.

Beatriz Alicia García N.

Thanks for reading me


separadorflores.jpg


Spanish version

Esa mañana del atentado terrorista contra las torres del World Trade Center en Manhattan 11 de septiembre de 2001 fui a caminar al Parque del Este, un amplio y bello parque de Caracas. Me ocurrió algo muy raro, cuando estaba llegando al parque sentí un dolor opresivo en el pecho, me asusté mucho, primero fue leve, pero luego más fuerte. Nunca había sentido un dolor como ese. Iba a pedir ayuda, pero luego decidí regresar a casa. Si algo me ocurría mi familia me ayudaría. Cuando llegué a casa no había nadie, pero instintivamente prendí el televisor, el dolor en mi pecho había disminuído. Fue entonces cuando vi las imágenes del atentado, parecía una de esas películas de desastres estadounidense. Pero escuché las noticias y no era una película, estaba ocurriendo en la realidad. Unos aviones habían sido desviados de su ruta y se habían estrellado contra las dos torres del World Trade Center en New York. He vuelto a ver las imágenes en diversas oportunidades, he visto fotos, y tantos años después no puedo entender que haya seres humanos capaces de hacer algo así. Tanto odio y maldad es muy difícil de comprender para mí. Lo mismo me ocurre con el Holocausto nazi y con las bombas atómicas lanzadas sobre tantas personas inocentes en Hiroshima y Nagasaki durante la Segunda Guerra Mundial. No sé por qué mi corazón sintió que algo muy terrible estaba pasando en ese momento. En aquellos días del atentado contra las torres gemelas, con un gran dolor y compasión, escribí el poema que les comparto, es una suerte de oración:



ZONA CERO

Inmenso corazón negro
de Manhattan.

Ruego por la paz.

Rostros llorando a mediodía
en la catedral de Saint Patridge.

Ruego por la paz.

Amor de los hombres
en ese infierno.

Ruego por la paz.

Por todos los seres humanos inocentes
que murieron ese día.

Ruego por la paz.

Por todos los seres inocentes
que están sufriendo en todo el planeta.

Ruego por la paz.

Por los seres humanos
que aún tienen esperanzas.

Ruego por la paz.

Beatriz Alicia García N.


Gracias por tu lectura


Translation to english by Deepl.com


Gracias por leer cafecito.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now