No! I Am Alive.

flower-5004175_1280.jpg


The smell, the ache, and pain filled the air at once,
Coughing hastily, I tried to take in a breath but choked due to the smell,
Struggling hard to catch my breath, I heaved deeply,
As a flicker of recognition passed through my eyes as I saw the shadow at one side,
Yes! Right there stood an unrecognizable shadow, calling out to me?


With the strangest vibe, the shadow stood,
Unmoving, it kept staring at me or something behind me,
It felt like it was waiting for someone or something to happen,
And the intense stare made my head turn hastily as I tried to understand,
Or was it to question why it kept staring my way? I can't say.


Opening my mouth, I felt the crackness in my voice as I tried to speak,
But no sound was heard. It was as if I was all alone,
But I knew wasn't as I could see and hear people's chatter,
But why does it seem like I am lost? I asked no one in particular,
Closing my eyes, I tried to remember something, but nothing came forth,
And I was left with cracking my head just to get an answer.


Patiently waiting to remember something, I was thrown off,
By the ringing sound in my head. Painfully, I tried to lift my hands,
But my hands were tied. What's happening to me?
I tried screaming again, but just like before, my voice was lost,
And right there stood the shadow with a hook in hand.


With its eyes on me, it smirked beautifully,
As if it was waiting to say the dreadful word known to mankind.
And it was then that I knew that death was upon me but I am not ready,
I still have a lot to do in life! I screamed, wiggling out of the bed I lay,
And then I heard it, beep, beep, beep the sound echoed in my ears,
Please, No! I want to live! I screamed.


But all was lost as I felt a strange metal upon my chest.
With each thrust to my chest, I felt weaker,
Weaker and weaker that I felt the need to sleep,
Just then, a memory struck me, and then I remembered,
I remember who I am and who awaits my return,
With a long breath taken, a single tear found it way to my cheek,
And then I heard someone say, you were dead some minutes ago,
No, I am alive! I said with a smile.


This is my response to Blockchain Poets Photo Prompt on death.


Image-Source


Still yours truly,
Balikis.

Thanks for reading.

Peace be unto those who crave it and more to those who chase it away.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency