An Ode To The Person I Once Was.

IMG_20230322_132625_412.jpg


Scared, with nowhere to go,
I hugged myself tightly without letting go,
I felt the sky change and a platter of water was let go,
I scrambled around my tiny hut trying to find a safe place to go.


I was lost, the fire in me gone,
Though I am not much of a prayer person,
But at this moment I found my lips moving but my voice was gone,
I couldn't hear my words out loud but my mind knew and my heart sang.
It was an ode to the person I once was.


Never would I ever have thought,
That I would be scared of the presence of fire and the insects that surround me,
The trauma fire left haunts me all night long as the day never reigned.
And there's nothing I can do to stop its force.


It was written that I was created to rule the earth,
That I would walk through every battle the inhabitants of Earth bring,
With the greatest elements in my command,
Fire, Water, Air, Earth, and Aether all mine to will,
But as time moved on, I couldn't find my aether (light) anymore.


Strange as it seems, I can feel the presence of my aether,
But I can't reach it no matter how I tried,
Now, I am left far away from the presence and smell of people,
In a place where I am left to battle.


The rain that fell brought in lots of provoking air,
The goosebumps it left remind me of my humanity,
"What happened?" I wanted to ask the strange air that surrounded me,
But I knew the answer as it lies within me.


I, who was once a fierce warrior,
I remembered the battles of life I fought,
I remembered how I slain my enemies and how my name filled the heart of men,
I remembered how I could will the five elements at once and make the ground growl.
I remember a lot and that's all I can remember.


Now, things have changed,
With my aether lost, my body was left to rot in the ground,
Six feet below is now my home,
And, all I could build was a tiny worn-out hut from my garment.
Troubled not, I am just a human who isn't immune to death.


Image Used Is Mine.


This is my response to the #dwotw by @samsmith1971.


Still yours truly,
Balikis.

Thanks for reading.

Peace be unto those who crave it and more to those who chase it away.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency