The Joys of Work

architecture_gf5eeab6b6_1920.jpg

Guarantees of the highest order, a magnitude of consequence, and a high likelihood of failure. Just what I like when I’m given a new job. I looked into the guy’s eyes: brown eyes, like my Dad. I barely knew if he’d pay out, but I took the file and walked out the door.

     Fishing out a cigarette from the box in my jean pocket, I thumbed it out and placed it in my mouth, lighting it with a flick of my flint finger attachment. The place was inconspicuous, and I stepped out of it into the hustle and bustle of the streets of New New Jersey, the sleaziest and shiftiest place on Mars. I tucked the dossier under my armpit and walked out into the crowds, slipping in and amongst a group of indigenous folk. Speaking something crazy about their red God. Fucking Martians. I took my leave from them as soon as possible and headed into a side alley towards my office building.

     Securing my cigarette in place with my teeth, I clambered up the chain-link fence and dropped down to the ground on the other side, almost slipping in a puddle of something black and slick. Nearly dropped the dossier in it, but thankfully the booze from this morning had worn-off and my reactions were back to good enough.

     “Hey, Rico! Have a nice trip?” A raspy voice called from the end of the alley.

     Rico? Nobody calls me Rico anymore, or so I thought. I dusted myself off and took a look at the familiar stranger. “Sonofabitch, Grey, I haven’t seen you in two decades.”

     “You look like shit Rico. What you doing down this side of town?” Grey offered me her hand and I obliged.

     “Just picking up some work.” I flashed her the dossier.

     “Someone giving you work down here must mean something’s stirring in the underworld. Got any info?” Grey brushed her bangs out of her face and I caught a glimpse of her eyes, metallic, like her hand.

     “Something happen to you, Grey? What happened to your right eye?”

     “Cataracts from Red Dust sickness settled in, just like the left, lost it last summer.”

     “Shit. Anyway, no info I can share. Not without fair compensation.” I gave her a knowing look and a wink.

     “How’s 1000 credits sound?” Grey pulled her wallet out, its crystal display flashing into life with numbers.

     “Hmmm, I was thinking more like… 2500. Being paid a good amount for this one so not giving any up lightly.”

     “Sounds juicy. You got yourself a deal, you sack of shit.” Grey flicked her fingers over the display, “Still the same account number?”

     “Too much of a hassle to change.”

     “Don’t I know it.” Grey fiddled around with her wallet for a few more seconds. “Sent. Now what’s the scoop, Rico?”


Today's prompt: brown eyes

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: @mariannewest/day-1542-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-brown-eyes

Got a little carried away today and wrote for an extra five minutes to flesh out the short story I'd started! Hope you enjoyed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency