Reaching Your End

shelter_4285351_1920.jpg

How long has it been, hmm?

     Twelve, thirteen years?

     Two kids, three wives. No parents.

     What some might call a storied history, a deep background, or a sordid past.

     Who would even want to help someone like me?

     Fourteen days of this pain, stuck in this hut in the middle of suburbia. I haven’t heard anyone in this area for months. No crawlers, no sirens, no other living humans.

     So this is how I die, huh? Not in conflict, not in a great last hurrah, but slowly succumbing to a bacterial infection alone in my nuclear shelter.

     For fuck’s sake.

     A knock?

     “Who’s that?” I shout.

     “Is there someone in there?” a voice returns.

     “Ye--, Yeah! I need help, I need medical attention! Please, God, don’t let me die here!”


Today's prompt: deep background

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: @mariannewest/day-1426-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-deep-background

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency