New Additions to the Family

cat_g6c6383388_1920.jpg

Rhadd looked at the box full of kittens in his arms. Two black cats, and one tabby stared back up at him.

     “That guy was a great salesman, I can’t believe you bought three cats. I said find out what they had, and we’d decide tomorrow.” Owain gave Rhadd a kiss on the cheek, before collecting one of the cats. The others meowed at their adoptive sibling being removed from their temporary shelter.

     Rhadd placed the box down on the sofa, collecting the other two cats in his hands. “I’m sorry… They were just too cute: those two were brothers, and this tabby would have been left all alone.”

     “It’s fine, I love them. And I love you,” Owain grinned at Rhadd, pointing his cat at him, “And so does Sir Meowington.”

     “Can I veto that name? No double-barrelled names or titles, please. Isn’t that right, Tabitha?” Rhadd kissed the back of the tabby cat’s neck, nuzzling its nape. It meowed back happily.

     “First you buy three cats and now you tell me I can’t name them what I want? The cheek!” Owain winked, trading cats with Rhadd.

     “Fine, fine. We’ll sleep on it.” Rhadd tickled the kitten’s head. “How does Sir Meowington sound to you, little man? Are you a Sir Meowington? Or maybe a Reginald?”

     The kitten meowed at ‘Reginald’, and Rhadd raised his eyebrows to Owain.

     “I think he likes Reginald!”

     “We’ll sleep on it!” retorted Owain.


Today's prompt: the guy was a great salesman

This week's worldbuilding prompt: family

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest/prompts can be found here:
@mariannewest/day-1612-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-the-guy-was-a-great-salesman

@worldbuilder/worldbuilding-prompt-220-pets

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency