Nature is Metal

red_fox_g5bb371bdf_1920.jpg

Of all the things in the world that I could possibly see on my walk to work in the morning, I was not expecting that. A badger, dragging a dead cat, being chased by a fox. I could not, would not, believe my eyes. The entrails followed closely behind the cat, and the fox couldn’t quite make up its mind on whether or not it should enjoy the innards or keep chasing the badger for a go at the carcass. The smell. Dear God, the smell was rancid. When I say I saw this, I mean, they emerged from a bush, two feet ahead of me, and stopped me dead in my tracks.

     A runner coming opposite stopped and jogged on the spot, watching the display of nature at its finest with widened eyes. Having shown up a few seconds late to the party, I felt compelled to explain to him the situation.

     “A badger. You know, and some dead stray cat. They just came out of that bush there and that’s where that,” I pointed to what looked like a bit of intestine, “came from too.”

     The runner smiled awkwardly at me, pressing a button on their smart watch, before taking off, carefully avoiding the cat bits strewn about the pavement. I followed suit, and tip-toed my way over, pleased at the very least that I got some material to discuss upon my entrance to the office.


Today's prompt: badger

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: @mariannewest/day-1545-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-badger

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency