An Awkward Lunch; 3-Prompt Challenge

hellas_394092_1920.jpg
Image Source: https://pixabay.com/photos/hellas-athens-facade-building-394092/

This Weekend's Prompts:

  1. We were back in her kitchen, having lunch, as she had suggested
  2. He did not come from Athens, he continued, but his brother lives here
  3. Rain started falling

We were back in her kitchen, having lunch, as she had suggested. The air surrounding me grabbed at my skin and my heart pounded in my chest. Sarah placed the mug in front of me, the steam rising gently from its warmth, and slowly sat in the chair opposite. Lost in her eyes, my shallow breath escaped through gritted teeth as I picked up the tea and placed it to my lips. The liquid seared my tongue and I tried to hide my wincing as she sat watching me, her weight shifting uncomfortably in her seat.

This is all your fault, I thought to myself, the anticipation ached as I smiled falsely and replaced the mug on the coaster.

Two years of our lives, wasted, because you couldn’t keep your legs shut.

Alex stepped inside the kitchen, trying to pick up from a conversation we had started earlier, his presence clawing at my senses. He did not come from Athens, he continued, but his brother lives here. I couldn’t fucking care less, you smug prick; he pulled up a chair, and slurped on a tall glass of water. If he hadn’t shown up, none of this would even be happening.

I leant over the table and wiped my forehead, half to break Sarah’s heart wrenching gaze from across the room and half to wipe away the rapidly accumulating sweat slowly burning my corneas.

“So, Alex, when are you planning on heading back to England?” Sarah finally spoke up, and of course it was to ask Alex a question. Rain started falling, its pitter patter helping to massage the arresting silences of the conversation.

“In two months, but I’ll be back over the summer.” Alex and Sarah shared a smile, and I could feel the rage building on my face.

“Aww really? We’ll all miss you.” I feigned sympathy; my words laced with sarcasm. Luckily, his Greek wasn’t particularly good, so he didn’t quite catch it. But Sarah did, and she shot me daggers from across the table; I pretended not to notice as I took another scalding sip of tea. Hopefully his plane crashes on the way back, I thought as my eyes widened from the surging heat passing through my throat.

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: @mariannewest/3-part-weekend-freewrite-582021

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency