Blood, Sweat, And Wheels

skateboard.webp

"No way Dad, I have to train! You know I'm going to be a pro skateboarder. All the way to the X Games." said a young boy, both worried and a little defiant.

"This is a family vacation, Hank Robles. You are a part of this family, therefore your presence is required. However you may bring your skateboard along if you wish." replied Dad sadly.

"Thanks Dad... I just hope Hawaii has a decent skatepark." replied Hank uncertainly.



Two weeks later:



"I have to admit, this is a pretty cool place... I'm going to miss Hawaii." thought Hank, as he practiced in a well maintained skatepark, with palm trees gently swaying in the breeze.



Later that evening:



"I can't believe my brother spent his whole Hawaiian vacation in a stupid skatepark." complained a blonde teen, as she rolled her eyes.

"Now Lindsay, we each got to do whatever we wanted on this trip. Mom and I got to explore the islands, and enjoy the beaches. You had your surfing lessons, horseback rides, and that awesome trip with Mom and I up to the volcano." said Dad, sadness in his voice despite the attempt to have a positive outlook.

"I know... But at least I did a few of the family activities with you. Hank didn't do anything but skateboard." complained Lindsay.



Ten years later:



"Congratulations on your win, Mr. Robles. Do you have any advice for those just starting out, with dreams of winning the X Games?" asked a young man in a suit, as he eagerly shoved a microphone towards Hank.

"Yeah... Everything is about balance. I love this sport, and still enjoy practicing for hours each day. But there are some things that I regret. If I could go back in time, I would join in more family activities." replied Hank, with a sad smile.

"So you're saying you regret the sacrifice that it took you to get to the top?" interrupted the reporter, visibly shocked.

"No, don't get me wrong. I love everything about what I do. I'm just saying, if you look at the bigger picture, taking a week or two off to be with family won't affect your performance. As long as you are willing to put in the hours when the vacation is over, of course. Work hard, play harder, and live every day to the fullest!" said Hank, raising his skateboard in victory.

"Well there you have it kids, from the top professional of the sport. You don't have to sacrifice everything in order to be a champion. Just work hard, and remember to live your life. Could anyone ask for a better role model?"



That evening:



"Congratulations, I'm so proud of you, Hank! And I loved your celebratory speech!"

"Thanks, Dad. I meant every word. I wish I'd done more of the family things, like Lindsay did. I'm going to start making up for lost time. Starting now with a family vacation to Hawaii." announced Hank.



"Goooo, Lindsay!" cheered Hank, as his sister glided high overhead, her bright multicolored sail contrasting with the cloudless blue sky.

"Oh my, that was fun!" she exclaimed after the wild ride.

"I got some really cool pictures, guys. Both of you flying and Hank steering the boat. I even caught your mom's look when the breeze picked up, and lifted you right above us!" said Dad, laughing.

"Now it's time for you all to find out what I love about skateboarding. And if the park is anything like I remember, you're going to be hooked for life." smiled Hank, remembering the beautiful place where he had been privileged to practice so many years ago.



"I've brought enough padding that you can't possibly hurt yourself." announced Hank, as he presented his family with what looked like padded suits of armor.

Once everyone was ready, he began with the basics. Amidst much laughter, the time passed. Soon the sky was a flaming orange.

"Can you keep teaching me when we get back Hank? Please?!?! I never realized how much fun this was, all I knew was that you kept disappearing at every opportunity." said Lindsay, somewhat regretfully.

"Of course! Maybe one day you'll take second place - I'll be the champ of course, I always am." he replied, grinning.

"Don't count on it!" Lindsay said, whacking him playfully with a kneepad.



Describe what you see:
I see a well loved skateboard, being used. It looks like it's in good condition.

Describe what you feel:
I feel like a lot of time has been spent with this skateboard.

#pic1000



Participation link

Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency