Memories that still breathe: My Pandemic Poetry Challenge Entry

The verse will wander like the
homeless into my embrace

& I'll welcome them with the knife
of my tongue. Yes the pain was there

yesterday; shattered as glass,
bone white silence peering through

the window trying to gather dust
into familiar forms. Gods the count

multiplied & ignorance grew its own
multicolored wings. How I wanted

to kick a ball through a post,
scream into the sepulchre of mud

where puddles used to catch the sun.
Yes, I lifted a keg of groundnut oil,

sloppily down the stairs, slipped
on the rain, skid to a stop before

the brittle white of moonlight.
Where are all the faces of my friends?

Where are all my lovers' limbs?
My arms are not enough to carry

my fear. My arms are not enough
to carry death. So I finger

the door knob & ask the raven
if the flood has ended, if I can

step out on to firm land? The raven
replies me you must learn to fly,

to mask laughter & tears, learn
to carry your trauma by yourself.

It is the only way you can wander
this song that the earth sings.

& when hunger greets my ribs with
its unrelenting cuts, what do I do?

So yes, I gathered my wings, masked
pain with terror, embraced my trauma

to myself and went to look for food.


mask-4898571_1280.webp
Pixabay


This is my entry into pandemic poetry challenge. I was nominated by @trucklife-family. You can read the challenge post by @riverflows. I nominate @tarazkp and @moeknows to join this challenge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency