A Park Forgotten

itkip6.jpg

I didn't expect to get outside today and to my surprise I had two walks and exceeded my step goal of 6000 a day to 12000. It rained this morning and my fiancé told me yesterday we were supposed to get ten days of rain.

I'm thrilled that the weatherman was wrong. I walked a country block on my lunch (about 4000) because I snuck a quick sandwich before I actually took my lunch at my desk.

The sun wasn't out but it was warm and humid at just 70 degrees Fahrenheit.

jmcouu.jpg

I walked slow because I'm still healing from a back injury and the stiff hips linger post op 2018. Working after lunch went fast and my mood was much better because of the walk.

After work I walked up to Conneaut Lake Amusement Park. The weather was still on the overcast side and very windy. I wasn't in a hurry because I had leftovers from yesterday to eat for dinner and Jeff was traveling on his way home from work.

reivqj.jpg

I couldn't help but notice how truly rundown Conneaut Lake Park has become.

As a child I suppressed excitement for days anticipating our school picnic. We were bussed up to Conneaut Lake Park for the annual picnic. I just couldn't sleep the night before.

Paint is peeling on the abandoned rides and buildings. Benches are breaking,and broken. The park, a once teeming spot for tourism, has fallen into ruin.

I became critical inspector walking the midway through its rundown squalor as I mourned the park's slippery-slope into irreversible decay. It is well known that the original owners mismanaged the park something awful and no one has been able to recover that damage.

I walk to see the lake. I seek it to listen to water lap the lake shores and jostle pontoon boats and jet skis. Due to these times we are living in and perhaps today's lacks of sunshine, few people ventured to the park this evening. I counted, maybe, ten walkers and a couple of motorcycles and cars passing by. I wasn't truly counting. I was living the moments.

I walked slow back home and took a good long while wringing out the rest of daylight with the sounds of outdoors urging me to remain. My heart wishing to unthaw from more than just a long winter.

rp8lg9.jpg

It's a pity how much changed over the past forty-five plus years at Conneaut Lake Amusement Park.

This afternoon the wind blew fiercely a warm wind. I savored the sounds and smells of Spring and life. I now look forward to the next walk.

photos property of the author and captured 5/18/2020

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt inspector.

Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join
hive-161155 @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency