Burn out

Years ago no one talked about it. Today it seems to be common a burn out. It doesn't matter if you have two full-time jobs, like your work or not, are a student, teenager or housewife burnouts seem to be for everyone just like depressions and suicides. It's no longer for hard-working dads only. It's not about going on a holiday in a rush and having a breakdown, it's about not being able to continue, crossing your boundaries and ignoring how you feel.
A planned holiday isn't enough to break to destress. Out of experiences, I can tell at least 7 weeks are needed to detox from work. Weeks without a cellphone, customers and colleagues calling you.
I never had a burnout but I did come to the point that I said: It's enough. I calculated how much money I needed to keep me and my children alive. I gave up on one job, gave up on my own business, did all the extra volunteering and kept a job but reduced the hours. Today I can hardly imagine I worked that much, I was a workaholic. I regret it since it brought me nowhere. I could have spend more time with my children, I could have travelled way more, I could have invested in myself instead of others. Others who took me for granted.

IMG-20191129-WA0000.jpg

This is my entry to the daily 5-minute free write. The prompt is written in bold and provided by @mariannewest

See: @mariannewest/day-1417-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-burn-out

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency