An aha moment

Do I have them at all? I doubt I have but if I think about 'aha' I see her face. You most likely will avoid her because she isn't the smartest and she doesn't look attractive at all. She hangs in and lives with her grandfather who took her in and... cares in a certain way. Not only about her but also her children. These children call him: dad.
This young girl could be one of my children if it comes to her age. We have never been close although I tried to be friends with them long ago. I guess the differences are too big to overcome. Being 'close' changed into distance and no contact at all.
Since a week there is a bit of contact again through the children. In the past weeks, they greeted me again and I greet them back but forgot how to communicate with them. I leave that upon my children.
Those aha moments are hers not mine. From the moment we met she watches me closely and if she sees the light I see her face change, she shines, thinks 'aha' and remembers. In her own way she is smart, intelligent. She observes and copies behaviour, words, jokes and understands people will easier accept her.
Her low IQ is no handicap to her. She found a way to survive in a world that takes her by surprise day after day and her way is as good as anyone else's.

light-bulb-moment-2615457__480.webp

This is my entry to the daily 5-minute-freewrite. The title is the prompt and provided by @mariannewest

Source photo: pixabay.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency