at least you’ve got your health


source

This story was inspired by the @mariannewest Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2281: at least you’ve got your health.


at least you’ve got your health

Minho retired from his company and tried to find a job, but it wasn't easy. They refused because he was too old.

He was able to live for a few months with the severance pay he received, but now he is running out of money.

His credit cards are in arrears, and banks won't lend him money.

To survive, he turned to illegal loan sharks to borrow money.

I borrowed 3 million won, but the loan shark gave me 2,500,000 won after deducting 500,000 won. I gave the money to my wife.

When the interest was due, the loan shark came to ask me to pay him back.

I told him to wait a few days, but the interest only increased, and after a few times, the debt grew to 50 million won.

I shouldn't have used loan sharks, but the legal annual interest is 20%, but the illegal loan shark charged over 3000% per year. When I couldn't pay him back, he asked me to sign a physical renunciation memorandum. I had no choice but to sign it.

I was having a hard time making ends meet, so I bought soju at a convenience store and drank it.

I put my hand in my pants pocket and found 5,000 won.

I remembered the lottery ticket and automatically bought a 5-game lotto ticket at the convenience store.

On Monday morning, I was about to go out for another job, but my wife checked my pants pocket while she was doing laundry.

Out comes a single lotto ticket.

"Honey, here's a lotto ticket in your pants pocket."

"Oh, I bought it last week, we'll see if it's the right one."

With anticipation, you check the lotto ticket to see if you got it right. Five numbers are correct and one bonus number matches.

"Honey, I won the second prize."

Minho was overjoyed. After taxes, he won 60 million won.

"Honey, I think we can make a business out of this," Minho said.

But his wife has a different idea: He should pay off his debts first, because 50 million won will quickly turn into 100 million.

She says to Minho
"Honey, let's use this money to pay off the loan first. You even signed a physical renunciation memorandum."

"you'll use it all to pay off the debt, at least you've got your health. We can start over."
The wife's words hit Minho in the chest.

Minho and his wife go to the loan shark with the second prize money.

They pay back the 50 million won plus interest and take the a physical renunciation memorandum and tear it up.

Min-ho and his wife sweat their days away with a new heart, free of debt, and live off the wages of their labor, but they love each other and are happy.

Don't use illegal loan sharks.


13 February 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2281: at least you’ve got your health


Novel List of @veryhappyday

👉 Story Bookstore of @veryhappyday 🎁

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency