5 Minute Freewrite - Working Hard

Hey you, my faithful readers and writers! How are you doing on this fine day?

My kid is happily playing in the backyard and I have some time to write. This challenge was as always on @mariannewest page and I was inspired to write about it from my point of view. Make sure to also visit @freewritehouse for more fun and information.

The most bizarre things get my creative juices flowing, so let's see what happens next. This one is for all the hard working moms out there!

pexels-pixabay-415824.jpg
Source

Working hard

I never fully understood my mother. She was always a bit of a stranger to me. Not for lack of loving and compassion, rather lack of smiles and undevoted attention. She would often seem distant and in a bad mood. I remember feeling the quilt for her being like that, thinking I must have done something to upset her.

She is an amazing woman, that's for sure. She got pregnant in college but managed to finish it with a baby in her arms. She held the whole household, two kids and a full time job as an accountant. Her parents were strict and almost cruel, mainly because she was a girl. She had no saying regarding her future, they chose it for her. Starting from trivial things like clothes and shoes, to high school and college. They made all the choices for her, except for my father. He was her rebellion and that is possibly the reason why she loves him so much.

If I only knew what she had to think about every day I would never judge her for being absentminded.

pexels-pixabay-73833.jpg
Source

This is what I imagine (picture above) when someone says working hard. But do you know what working hard really is? Let me try to explain.

  • Getting up before everyone to have time to prepare clothes and breakfast
  • Getting yourself ready for the day
  • Changing and feeding the baby
  • Wash dishes from breakfast
  • Pick up and pack dry laundry and put another load on
  • Iron
  • Vacuum and mop the floors
  • Dust
  • Make lunch
  • Make dinner
  • Make all the snacks
  • Play with the baby
  • Go get groceries
  • Pick up toys
  • Walk the dog
  • Feed the dog
  • Pick up mess
  • Manage tantrums
  • Scrub the toilet
  • Look presentable the whole time

You can add:

  • Go to work
  • Smile
  • Be a sexy wife
  • Be patient mother
  • Call your parents
  • Read a book
  • Do your nails
  • Do your hair
  • Give children a bath and put them to sleep
  • Wake up every time the baby wakes up
  • Be understanding, be comforting and a shoulder to cry on
  • And don't forget to be in the best mood all the time!

Hard work?
You can bet!

But, we all do it and we all become even stronger!

With love,
Tamara

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency