Happy Hour Freewrite - My first attempt

This was my entry to @mariannewest and @latino.romano’s 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday Prompt: happy hour. You can see the details here

image.png
source: unsplash.com

I have a favor to ask. If you are on YouTube, can you please subscribe to my Sustainable Living Podcast channel. I am not asking you to watch, just to subscribe. I want to be able to do live Yoga classes and need more subscribers before I can access that function. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q

I have subscribed as per request to support the podcast. I wish my channel is also supported. haha @mariannewest
My Youtube Channel is hereMy Youtube Channel is here

---- Back to the Freewrite ----

Happy Hour, is what we like to hear in Singapore. Buy one get one free. 50% off. Or even a discount over regular prices. Alcoholic beverages in Singapore are very expensive, generally because of the heavy tax imposed by the Government.

The phrase "Cannot afford to get drunk" is literally, just that. Cannot afford the Alcohol. To give you an idea, a pint of beer is at best around S$12 or US$8.
A cocktail will start at around S$16 and can go as high as $30+ especially if you go to a 5-star establishment such as an Hotel lounge.

So to attract people to go to the bars at earlier, less traffic timing, bars tend to offer Happy Hour prices to hope to increase sales earlier in the evening, and by the time you stay after the Happy Hour, you'd pay full prices then. So you move on from Happy Hour to Party Hour, you are high from your Happy Hour drinks and tends not to care much about the higher prices after the Happy Hour.

This is pure marketing tactics, and it works. More sales is generated and the bars or pubs are very happy. For the customers, we are just suckered for the cheaper prices and we end up drinking more than usual (and hence pay for more than usual too) haha - we are the suckers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency