A Tune from the Past: 5-minute freewrite Day 1321 prompt: Mocking bird


northern-mockingbird-4968800_640.jpg

The first thing that came to mind when I saw this prompt was the old song "Mockingbird Hill." I am told it was my brother's favorite song when he was very little. I ran across the sheet music for it one day at a yard sale or used book store, bought it, and later showed it to him. He assured me that his taste in music has changed since then. Ha ha! I get it out and play it every now and then. It's a cheery little tune. Several artists have recorded it, including Patti Paige, Les Paul and Mary Ford, and Slim Whitman. ( I looked online to get those names right.)

I don't think I have ever heard a real mocking bird sing. The don't live in any of the areas where I have lived. They live in Arizona, and I've visited my sister there, but I don't think we saw or heard any mockingbirds at the time.

Now I have completely run out of thoughts on the noble mocking bird, and have time left in which to write. Today was busy. I drove my daughter to an appointment, did some shopping at a very big store, stopped to look at things in a thrift store, and came home to eat leftovers for supper. The weather changed many times all day from sun to clouds to rain and back again, and it was very windy. This is typical spring weather here.

image credit

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency