Pic1000- The rooftop, a protective hedge

photo by @wakeupkitty

I watched as the architects came up with the drawing
It had a drawing on it
The drawing was that of a strange building
I never understood what was going on

I saw dad move to and fro with them
Making gestures I would never understand
And then he said to me:
Baby, we're moving out for a while
Dad wants to set up a new building, stronger and mightier than the first

But why dad? I asked
Can't it just be renovated
Remember the rooftop, we had vowed never to destroy it

Well, years ago
The village was in tumour
Mom had died in labour
I hate myself for being the cause of her death
Dad wrapped the little baby in his arms
And while everyone were running helter-skelter
The rooftop became our solace

Shielding us from rain and sun
From roving enemies
It soundproof my cries for breastmilk
And comforted us until the troubles had passed by

And now dad's gonna demolished it?
Oh noooo, not under my watch
Immediately after the survey,
I sneaked into dad's room
Got the signed contract and the drawing
And burnt them to ashes
I'll rather watch millions go down the drain
Than watch a protective hedge
Which stood in as a mother..... destroyed.

Here's my entry
It's been a while @freewritehouse but I'm back now

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now