Family Drama, a timely prompt

IMG_20170713_165831.jpg


There's one in every family. That one who thinks they know what is best for everyone, but defines best for everyone along lines of best for me.

You know the one. They usually drink too much, or are dependent on some sort of substance that, apparently, drives them out of their minds and bodies and allows them to be taken over by a consciousness that is irrational, selfish, stubborn, and plain old dumb.

I have a sister like this. She thinks it's me. I'll let you decide

We have partial ownership in a property that has been in the family since 1790. My family has cared for this place, used this place, and loved this place, since before I was born. Another family has inherited a portion of this property. They have not had anything to do with it for as long as I can remember, nor did the person who left it to them. According to my lawyer, they have NO CLAIM on the property by adverse possession, meaning that since they have had nothing whatsoever to do with the property for more than 20 years, it's not theirs in any way. But they are threatening to sue US to sell the whole place off, bit by bit, to maximize their inheritance.

I would like to keep the property in the family, even if I have to be the sole owner of it (not my preference - I could use some help!). My siblings and I could get rid of these others, by filing an adverse possession action with the court. But my crazy sister won't do it. She knows I want to keep it, and she is doing everything she can to stand in my way. Who would not want to keep 100 hundred acres on a large lake, with 600 feet of very private lakefront, in the family?!

I have hired a lawyer to represent me against several memebers of my fam damily. It's so stupid, but I will let the court decide this matter - I have a far better chance of retaining the property in court, than I do in this family.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is family drama.



The image is mine, and is of the lakefront in question. Would you allow someone to force you to sell this place if you could keep it?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency